Settling in


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » South Holland » Rijswijk
April 13th 2005
Published: April 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So I've already survived the trip over, Day 1 of jet lag, and my first day at the office. All the folks here are pretty friendly, and are already more than comfortable giving me a hard time for the little things I do that I believe qualify me as a walking disaster.

For example, the cafeteria here uses a reloadable cash card to speed up the checkout process. I, being an all round genius and renaissance man left my card and receipt (necessary for expensing the meal) on my tray, which I subsequently put on the conveyor belt to the magical land of dishwashing. Now, lunch has become the time when everybody can remind me I get another chance to throw away more money. Eh, it's just Euros...not like it's real money......

The free eating is definitely turning out to be a saving grace of being away from home. Last night I went to an Italian place with Dale, a fellow Houston guy I've worked with on a project that's here in NL for about a month, and had osso bucco for 15 euros and it was amazing. I forsee a 10-lb weight gain in the near future because I'm seeing lots of restaurants and not so many gyms.

More to come after I go down to lunch and stuff my face again....wish me luck on the whole cafeteria card thing.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.1357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb