A Little Less Touristy


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » Province of Utrecht » Utrecht
January 22nd 2010
Published: January 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Domtoren 2Domtoren 2Domtoren 2

I see the big old thing but can I find the big old thing...

Utrecht



This morning I decided that I would try for a different place and made my way to Utrecht, which is only 30 min by train from Amsterdam. On the ride, I saw many many many windmills and water ways. I can’t imagine how homes can be built with waterways surrounding them on 3 out of 4 sides only a few feet from the foundation of the home. Whole neighbourhoods with little waterways running in grid patterns around their homes.

I am glad I took the day trip to Utrecht as it was a little gem. Once I found my way out of the massive shopping centre that the train station drops you into it really was beautiful. I actually preferred it to Amsterdam. It has less of the touristy feel but still a lot of the similar architecture. The canals are even better though! Instead of the basic canals that Amsterdam has it has the canals sunk below street level with smaller streets/wharfs at water level and little shops/cafes on these wharfs but with the regular streets running overtop of them. Without a map I wandered aimlessly with a giant structure (I found out to be the
13th c canal warves13th c canal warves13th c canal warves

beautiful canals... way better than amsterdam
Domtoren) as my guide post. I headed towards this structure as it looked old. I finally found it and was pleasantly surprised. It led me to a beautiful tower (Domtoren), a church, and old meditation grounds. I looked about for a bit and then decided to make my way back to the massive shopping centre where I could hop a train back into Amsterdam.

Back in Amsterdam I walked about town again. Visited the Dam Sq., the main square in Amsterdam with a couple really nice buildings but they are being reconstructed or represerved or something but the towers on top were really nice.

The Netherlands seems to be full of people from other countries with a substantial amount from Morocco. But in general very multicultural.

I made it back to my new hostel, Aroza, and chatted with my roommate (Ann from Denmark) before I headed off to bed.





Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

DomtorenDomtoren
Domtoren

I am getting closer
meditation groundsmeditation grounds
meditation grounds

Meditation grounds
Utrecht 016Utrecht 016
Utrecht 016

The beginning of the self portraits
Utrecht 027Utrecht 027
Utrecht 027

mmmmm waffle with caramel.


27th January 2010

it looks beautiful here, you must be having so much fun!
31st January 2010

This place look wonderful, I just love the canals it also looks very quiet no sign of people milling around. Live and enjoy, Mom.

Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.1281s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb