Blah to BYAAAHHHH!


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » Province of Groningen » Groningen
September 22nd 2006
Published: September 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Gangsta partyGangsta partyGangsta party

Siward and me at the Gangsta party. The whole party was the clash of the two "Gangstas", tommy guns vs. gats. Except its the Netherlands, so no one even had fake guns.
I’ve been feeling kinda blah the past few days, sleeping all day, and then being tired cause I slept too much. One of my usual funks, I guess. It doesn’t help that I only have class from Tues 6-8pm, Weds 12-2, and Thursday 10-12 and 6-8pm. No real incentive to get out of bed… But alas there is! I’m in the freaking Netherlands! Two of my friends have already planned a trip to Italy during our week of in October, and I’m realizing that I need to get off my butt and actually travel! October 6 I’m going to a sort of trance music dance festival in Amsterdam. I think its gonna be really fun. They play a lot of trance and electronic type music in some of the pubs/dance clubs, and I love it! Its so fun to dance to! And there aren’t any strangers getting up in your space as if you actually want to dance with them. Its great. But I need to make other plans to go to Brussels and Germany (Hamburg is supposed to be really fun), maybe Paris, London, who knows? My friend Saki goes to “uni” in London and he’s supposed to take
Gangsta party 2Gangsta party 2Gangsta party 2

Me and Dirk-Siemen, one of the student managers at my student house.
us there sometime…

But as far as actually getting out of bed, that starts tomorrow. I’ve got to buy a new charger for my computer, because mine died and I’ve been borrowing a friend’s for the last few days. I also need to do some other shopping (school supplies, etc.). Maybe stop in at Ikea *big grin*.

Saturday I’m going to climb the Martini Tower in the center of town. It used to be the tallest tower in the Netherlands, but now its 3rd, I think. They’ve had to rebuild it 3 or 4 times, but I think the original was built in the 1400s? Surprisingly this newest one was built in late 1800s/early 1900s (I don’t remember exactly), and the only damage it sustained was one bullet whole in one of the bells, during the bombings in WWII. After that, we’re taking a canal tour of the city, and then eating all-you-can-eat pancakes on this giant boat/pancake restaurant in the canal. I’m taking my camera for sure.

Then on Saturday night, my friend Adam (from College of Charleston) is having his birthday party, and we’re going to have to reinvent Beer Pong using
My "cell"My "cell"My "cell"

The over-the-door-shoe-rack-o-stuff really pulls the space together. (Its really great, thanks Momma)
these tiny cups like they give you in hotel bathrooms because Solo cups don’t exist here… :-( Adam’s and my Dutch mentors both studied for a term at CofC, and apparently were the Beer Pong undefeated champions for quite a while. (I’m also taking my camera there).

I don’t know exactly when I’m going to post this, our internet is really, really bad. During the day, it is all but nonexistent. Only when everyone turns off their virus-infested computers when they go to bed can anyone actually surf the web. If only we all had Macs…

Well at any rate, I’m gonna get something scholastic done, then go to bed and get up for all my errands in the morning. I miss everyone! Thanks for reading! Enjoy the photos. Peace from the East ;-)



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



22nd September 2006

School or ????
I've been reading with interest of your (ahem) activities -When does the "SCHOOLING" portion start ?? :-) Sounds like you're having a BALL !!!! I'm jealous . . . When *I* went to school . . up hill both ways - -etc. - - snow up to my butt - - 38 hours of classes each day - - No parties - - (cough) - - -

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb