I own a hotel, so I go on holiday in vacation season, I'm an idiot


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » Province of Groningen » Groningen
August 11th 2007
Published: August 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The 9th sucked. I had no couchsurf place to go to in groningen and since I was there by 2pm, I decdied to press on further along my route and stay in a hotel, problem was I couldn't find a hotel that was open. Unbeleivably, many hotelliers go on holiday in August, the busiest tourist season, what the hell is worng with them? its like a bottel store owner deciding to go on vacation around New Year's... so anyway, an hour's circling around a city with the lovely name of Hoozegard, all the time thinking I could have used this time to press on with my route, and finally got a hotel.

Oh, I have telemetry on my bike computer now (when I noticed it had come on I literally said outloud 'hey, telemetry' I know I'm cool, I don't need your approval). 80km 4,5 hours. Gettign faster now the wind i at my back sometimesa dn the body seems to be taking Fictive Kees's advice and hardening up.

I don't seem to be desrcibing much of the dutch countryside - frankly its all the same - falt, some trees, some feidls with channels, a canal, wind trubines... today my route was mainly along the side of a motorway, which was gootd for speed and getting directly to where I was going, which I liked - frankly, its the riding i'm doing it for not the towns or the coutnryside (and definately not the muesums, I haven't visisted any and don't intend to, that's what travelling with a girl is for).

Also, the dutch countryside smells, like really bad manure but also the smells form when I worked in the tannery - chemicals I guess. it absolutely stinks at times, and I wonder how the farmers put up with living amongst it.

Nothing agianst the Ntherlands, and the dutch have been very helpful whenver I've been lost, btu I'm looking forard to Germany.

Advertisement



14th August 2007

cheeky
you cheeky wee emu. According to your blog you went from Leeuwarden to Germany then to Groningen. That makes about as much sense as Don Brash being NZ's PM. Also, how the hell could you get lost going east to Leeuwarden? There are like more signs than all the Emus in the world combined.

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb