Arrival In Groningen


Advertisement
Published: June 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

ISCOMS Group at the BarISCOMS Group at the BarISCOMS Group at the Bar

This small table was kept chalk full of beer the whole night!
Today I arose at 0345 hr in order to grab a ‘taxibus’ that was to take me to the Geneva airport. Having worked on my presentation the previous night until about 12:00 p.m., I felt like I had never gone to sleep at all. My EasyJet flight was in the air by 0630 and we touched down to a beautiful day in Amsterdam at 0830. Groningen, the town where the conference was held, is situated in the north of The Netherlands. Thankfully, due to its small size, a train from the center (Amsterdam) to the north only takes 2.5 hours. I arrived in Groningen at 12:00 and was shortly therein whisked away by a member of the ISCOMS organizing committee to the faculty of medicine building. Here is where I registered and received my information packet and as well managed to contact the students that I was to live with, Jochem and Jaust.

I am so lucky to have been placed with these guys in Groningen rather that stay on my own at a hostel. They live in a 5 bedroom apartment in downtown Groningen. Jochem is the president of a local student rowing club (apparently a big-ticket item in Holland - comparable to hockey in Canada) and Jaust races competitively at the same club. The other guys weren’t around too much but all seemed nice.

Groningen is quite a picturesque town, even by Nova Scotia standards. Actually, it would be considered a city by Nova Scotia standards, holding about 130,000 people. Its ‘feel’ was that of a town; two large town squares, bricked streets, all buildings were short and of a uniform size (except for the beautiful central gothic cathedral), and ubiquitous bike paths gave the village a comfortable, charming allure. Additionally, Groningen is a major university center, and a full 40,000 of the 130,000 people are students!

That afternoon I participated in a hospital tour of the beautiful new regional hospital in Groningen. Although the tour guide was useless, walking around this marvellous hospital was actually quite refreshing. The hospital maximized the amount of public space by building several large atriums that were several stories high (as high as the hospital), which was covered by a glass sunroof that could be opened during nice days. It was quite nice today, and so a gentle breeze bathed us and it felt like I was outside! There were large water fountains in these rooms and the constant tinkle of sprinkling water had a soothing effect. Additionally, patient lounges that bordered this room had balconies projecting into the sunlight and summer breeze. If an infirmary should ever take its hold upon me, I should wager that my chances to convalesce would be highest in this pleasant abode.

In the evening there was a social at a local bar in town that was the “Med Bar”. Here is where I also met up with Beau, a fellow medical student at Dal who is one year below me. The ISCOMS conference committee was kind enough to provide a “couple drinks”, ostensibly to serve as a universal conversation lubricant among these international clientele. Perhaps they would have reconsidered this offer had they realized that two Canadian East-Coasters, combined with a table full of Poles, could single-handedly cripple their booze budget for the week…in one night! This was a very fun night, and myself, Beau, and the Poles took turns to bring back tray after tray of pro-bono beer from the bar (the beer in Holland are actually quite small - about the size of a rum glass). I met several very interesting people from all over the world, including Romania, Iran, Poland, Germany, India, and Czech Republic. Many, if not most, were woman actually, so it was interesting to know that there seems to be a global shift to increase the enrolment of women in medicine.

After about 5 hours of drinking and socializing I called it quits because the next day was the big day where I was to give my presentation. Besides, there real party was planned for the next night! And for some odd reason - presumably because of the monstrous amounts of greasy Chinese food I consumed that evening - I woke up sick at 3:30 and required an urgent oral evacuation, after which I slept like I baby.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb