Under The Sea


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Volendam
April 18th 2013
Published: December 17th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


WindmillWindmillWindmill

Warder
....but not what it seems

So guys, long time no blog...that's because I've been so busy studying at university, which is now almost over and there's so much to say!



So about the Netherlands this month! On Friday afternoon (12th April) where I took a nice break from studying to go and visit my friends Roel and Sandy after a long time. Flying into Amsterdam Airport once again I was (eventually) met by Sandy to take me to her village in North Holland, lying 1 metre below sea level, where I met her lovely family who were so kind to let me stay for the weekend.



On Saturday we took the car to visit a windmill, close to a dike behind the Markermeer - part of the inland lake system in the centre of the country. We then visited Sandy's sister in the café next to the mill before heading back to the house and preparing for the main event of the weekend, Eurovision In Concert in Amsterdam. Taking the bus into Amsterdam, we met up with Roel and his two Belgian friends, before taking a mini-tour of the city (including the Red Light District) and followed by a meal at a restaurant. Afterwards we made our way to Melkweg where we joined the queue to enter the concert.



At the event, me and Sandy nabbed spots pretty close to the stage, where we saw over half of the acts who will perform at the contest next month, as well as special guest - Carola, who had won the contest 22 years ago. We also met up with many Eurovision friends from across Europe, before making our way to the after party, where after an entertaining night made our way back to Sandy's village in the early hours.



The following day we travelled to Volendam (via Edam, where the cheese is from), a traditional Dutch port town on the Markermeer, and involved seeing all the typical Dutch attractions - Clogs, Tulips, Bikes, Dikes, and all-round flatness. This was my final full day in the country, and the next day I took my flight home to carry on with my final round of studying (and recover from my sore throat due to talking Dutch!)



On the following Wednesday I also took the trip into London in order to apply for the visa, which was gatecrashed by a public funeral....I await the final decision in the coming days!



Also happening since my last blog...my messy 22nd Birthday, my last ever lecture, and the completion of my bachelor thesis - something that called for one of the best uni night parties ever!



Viel Spaß!

Kevin.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

ClogsClogs
Clogs

Volendam
Edam CheeseEdam Cheese
Edam Cheese

Volendam


Tot: 0.226s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.123s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb