Amsterdam


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
June 1st 2005
Published: June 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in Amsterdam late yesterday afternoon. Dylan joined us in Paris safely at Gare du Nord. (Mama duck, Jeanette, took a sigh of relief that we were all in the same place at relatively the same time)
As we exited the station, Jeanette, like a true backpacker, tripped and was taken down on the cobblestone with her 35 pound backpack. I haven't had a skinned knee or elbow since I was like 5. Oh well, it had to happen sometime. I just wish it wasn't in rush hour traffic and at a street crossing.
The boys definitely love it here, for reasons more obvious than I am wanting to explain. I for one, was excited for the Van Gogh museum and the Anne Frank museum. The canals became a bit confusing last night, as we were without a decent map and Nick's navigation skills were, well, a bit impaired. So after dinner, I assertively hailed a taxi and poof, we were home.
My friend, Renate, came to see me today. I hadn't seen her in three years and it was so great to have some estrogen around me, if only for a few hours. She took us to the Red Light District and we walked the streets gazing at hookers in the windows and sex shops littering the streets. Pretty funny, we were all laughing. It was such a strange sight to see in the middle of the afternoon....really, strange. We purposefully went in the middle of the afternoon because Renate urged us not to go there at night unless we wanted to risk getting mugged.
All in all, we're loving Holland. The Dutch (after being in Paris) are very helpful and nice. (I'm not saying the French are mean, Dave, just that the Dutch are comparitively nicer.) The bikes have proven to be a bit of an obstacle, as all of us have had near death experiences crossing the street.

Hope you are all well around the world,
Miss you,
Jeanette

Advertisement



1st June 2005

pictures
The gallery is great. Keep them coming. Glad all are having a good time. - Dad

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb