Summery of 2006


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
October 30th 2006
Published: November 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


The temperature is getting closer and closer to zero degrees and the process of trees getting naked will soon be over with. As I think back of this summer of 2006 I remember some highlights that I´d like to share:




June


July


* Veronique Xavier (AUS), also a dear globetrotter friend, paid me a visit during a couple of great days and put my guiding skills on the test. We also went to listen to some
Redlight NightRedlight NightRedlight Night

This is the night of our arrival to Amsterdam. I got the opportunity to meet two very nice relatives of Arshia´s, Keyvan and Pejman.
music at the Stockholm Jazz Festival. We danced (well I was mostly hopping on one leg) to tunes of several live performances including Kanye West.

* The day after Veronique left for down under. As it turned out I was lucky to get a free ticket for the Sting concert at the Jazz Festival. Great performer as he is, he kept us entertained for a good two hours until midnight.

* I got a phone call a few minutes after the Sting concert from my best friend Arshia, who suggested that we should go by car to Amsterdam - leaving in 3 hours!!?!?!?

* So 4 hours later I find myself with Ali (IRN), Arshia (IRN) and her husband Mario (GRE) in a BMW Coupé=a bit tight 😱, halfway through Sweden. We take a route that first goes by ferry to Denmark and then by another ferry to Germany. Lunch was served in Hamburg at a persian restaurant with awesome cuisine and we arrived to Amsterdam around 11p.m - just in time for the Redlight Districts to turn their lights on!

* James Brown performed (perhaps for the last time in Sweden) before a privilieged crowd
One night outOne night outOne night out

Actually we had 7 nights out out of 7 possible!
in Stockholm at the end of July. iI had the fortune to dance and listen to the Godfather of Soul´s vibes for more than two hours together with friends. Thank you Mr. Brown for being a great entertainer and everything you did for soul music.



August


* This is the month when Sweden takes a rest. It is one of the best times to be in Stockholm as you will have this beautiful city basically to yourself. People go away with families to summerplaces or chartered vacations planned months ahead. Riding a bicycle was the only alternative for me as it put no pressure on my knee! At this time it was optimal as traffic was low, weather was great and lots of special places around the city waited for me to discover them. It was great being a tourist in your own city - Try it!!

* My favorite cousin (brother from another mother) kassra (GER) came around this time as well. Coming from Münich means he knows how to handle his beer so I was challenged to keep up his party level the whole week. I succeded well I think! He was nice enough
to stay until my birthday (5 sept :P) and got to witness when I got wipped cream all over me when Caroline payed me an early morning surprise visit.

* Cherie Leila Cherikh (FRA) joins up for a weekend to show how Parisiennes keep the rythm at the dancefloors.

* Pi-Kuad (THI) pays me his third visit since we met eachother in Ko Pa Ngna last August... Hope for many more visits my friend! (He´s a flight steward so it´s a sure bet)

September


  • This is one of the best months of the year! Not only because all the virgos go wild having b-day parties but also since another BEST FRIEND, Djamel (SUI), came to see me. As I said we had planned to travel some in southern Europe. We hadn´t seen each other since we split in Thailand last year. A year is a long time away from a person you really care for much and it cannot be described how good it felt to catch up and build new memories together. Tnx for the visit Dji Dji!

October


* A new era in my life started in this month
Ya Ya! Kam Kam!Ya Ya! Kam Kam!Ya Ya! Kam Kam!

We are friends!
as I was provided with an office (freely for 6 months) through a section of the university so that I can follow through a business idea I came up with this summer. I am developing an interesting content service for mobile phones. So, weekdays I go to my office 😊 like a disciplined good boy and take care of daily things that needs to be done until the whole thing is realised. Weekends I try to spend with friends and family!

Finally some quotes since I feel like it:



Ok enough quotes! Here´s some pics to summerise 2006! There is a total of 37 pictures distributed on two pages so make sure you don´t miss page 2 if you want to see them all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

Redlight next to kebabsRedlight next to kebabs
Redlight next to kebabs

Sign of a male attraction!
AmsterdamAmsterdam
Amsterdam

A great thing to learn in Amsterdam is that law is and should be what the people agree on. For example, in Amsterdam it is legal to smoke Marijuana freely in public. However, you can´t go around and drink alcohol in that manner.
By-standersBy-standers
By-standers

The attention of the crowd behind us is drawn by a prostitute performing in her window to the crowds obvious pleasure.
Kassra trying out his wings in StockholmKassra trying out his wings in Stockholm
Kassra trying out his wings in Stockholm

I know it´s a paradox to blog another person´s travelphoto in your own blog. But metaphorically speaking it reminds me of when you´re at a crowded place searching for someone. It´s sometimes better to stay where you are and let them find YOU!
VisitorVisitor
Visitor

Veronique Xavier ladies and gentlemen!
Visiting cruiser to StockholmVisiting cruiser to Stockholm
Visiting cruiser to Stockholm

In the summer lots of cruisers visit Stockholm for a day or two. Most of the people onboard are on pension schemes enjoying life around the world. I on the other hand am sitting on a garbage bin to get a photo of this ship behind me!
StockholmStockholm
Stockholm

and one of my favorite spots there!
HamburgHamburg
Hamburg

Lunch at a persian restaurant
BMW CoupéBMW Coupé
BMW Coupé

What would your facial expression be after a long time in a car next to this guy?--->
With friends..With friends..
With friends..

...at Benjamin´s concert


4th November 2006

Already miss you B!
Hey B! thanks for this 2006 summary...as usaual when I get through your blogs, I can't stop smiling...ok! not as much as on the pic ;) B! I really had a great time in Stockholm...I hope that this time, we won't wait another year before we catch up somwhere on this beautiful planet. All the best & take care.

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb