Amsterdam


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
September 12th 2013
Published: September 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Today was our first day touring a major city in Europe. As many of you have already read, our first day in Amsterdam did not go as smoothly as we had hoped but we did get a few laughs out of it.

Today, we woke up at 9am. We both thought this was quite an accomplishment considering the six hour time difference our bodies were adjusting to. Since our host had guests from Russia staying in their guest room the night of our arrival, we stayed in the living room. Considering what we are use to for living rooms in America, this one was semi-private. It had a door that locked from the inside and shades that were easily shut. Neither of us had any trouble sleeping on our air mattresses. We were EXHAUSTED.

We moved into the guest room this morning after the previous guests had left and the room and our host had cleaned. The room is small and quaint but, what a view! Our room looks out over the many surrounding buildings. I have to say, jumping from building to building has definitely crossed my mind. One of the rooftops is home to a very long-legged bird. This bird seems to be there most of the time.

After a quick move-in/organize period we packed our day bags and left the house. We decided to walk to day even though we have free access to bikes. We both agreed we were in no way ready to bike through central Amsterdam. Instead, we adopted a sort of, "watch and learn," attitude for the day. So, we walked 10min to the ferry. This ferry is free and takes about 5min to cross the canal.

After we arrive at Amsterdam Central (the main train station) we purchase a 24hr city pass from the tourist office. This allows us a free canal ride, free access to many museums, free hop-on-hop-off bus tour and much more.

We took the canal ride which brought use through the heart of Amsterdam's canal system and returned to Central Station in order to then see Dam Square. As we walked to Dam square we slowly acclimated ourselves to the Dutch street and transportation system. One example of how we discovered that designated bike lanes are EVERYWHERE is when I walked across what looked like a normal walking area only to here Jo yell, "watch out," and pull me backwards just before a bicycle clipped me. So yes, the Dutch do ride their bikes EVERYWHERE and fast. They all seem to know the rules of road very well. I, on the other hand, would be terrified to ride a bike through Amsterdam. I know I would be the silly tourist that holds up the line and awkwardly shuffles her bike to the side. Yes, that would be me.

Dam Square was different than the usual squares I am use to only because of its obvious age difference. There was the central Dam Square monument surrounded by a cobblestone square. The square was full of locals walking around, eating lunch, watching "square" performers, and having an all-around good time. The Dutch seem to have the "having a good time all the time" thing down pretty well. Joy is always in the air.

All-in-all, we spent 6hrs touring Amsterdam today and have a full day tomorrow as well.

One final comment: glasses are in here! Many Dutch, both male and female are wearing the currently in-style, "hipster glasses." I am going to relish this week by wearing my own glasses.

Advertisement



13th September 2013

Enjoyed your blog, I will continue to look forward to your experiences. ENJOY and be safe.
8th October 2013

Thank you
14th September 2013

Learning how to use blog!
Enjoy..... Sounds like you both are getting it down. We were out of power for a day and a half, so I am just catching up. Love you. Mom in Vt.
8th October 2013

Thanks Mom!
14th September 2013

I wonder if your bird is a stork...sorry I had a nerd moment :) I read Jo's post on tumbler I'm sorry your first day was a struggle...glad you got some laughs out of it though! (So, apparently I will have to get tumbler in order to follow Jo...Alyssa is going to tease me so much :D) So, I seriously got an image of you and Jo in some kind of goofy superhero costume, carrying your massive backpacks and jumping across the rooftops of Amsterdam! "Teaching all how to stay safe from bicycle traffic!" that should be your slogan ;) I hope you two have taken absurd amounts of photos!!! I'm praying for you every day and love you two lots!!!
8th October 2013

Just got your message. I did not know how to check comments before. Thank you for your comment and insight Christine! Keep it coming.

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb