"I long to ride a bike, dance, whistle, look at the world, feel young, and know that I am free." - Anne Frank


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
June 7th 2013
Published: June 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Speaks for itselfSpeaks for itselfSpeaks for itself

Around where I met the 3 stoned college guys
People told me that I should really get some sleep on my first day of arrival... Of course, I didn't fully listen. Therefore, today I slept until 1:30 pm! I was so angry at myself bc my original plan was to get going at 9 am. HA! I finally left Irina's flat around 3 and got to Central Station a little before 4. I was STARVING! There are so many delicious food choices around Amsterdam, and if you know me well, you know I cannot ever make a definite decision, especially when it comes to food... Probably because I love everything! at this point, i had tunnel vision for something phenomenal to eat. Amongst my search, I notice a blonde hair guy wearing a UNC basketball jersey. I just couldn't ignore him, so I blurt out- hey! Are you from NC?? he was actually from Sacramento and with two other guys who seemed shy. They were with a group of college kids doing a guided tour around Europe. my new fellow blonde friend, Tyler, and I, talked about why we are here, future destinations, etc. I felt rude not including the other guys in our conversation so I kindly ask where there are from. the second guy finally looks up to me and BAM - I instantly understand why they are shy..... This guy was stoned out of his mind, he could barely keep his eyes open! It was absolutely hilarious. They asked if I wanted to join them for a pub crawl later but I wasn't really feeling that because I had other plans for the day nor did I want to end up like Natalie Holloway (you're welcome Mom and Kristin)!

Back to the phenomenal food search- Finally becoming annoyed with my irritated, food-deprived self, I end up at the Dam. It is flooded with people and I catch whiffs of marijuana here and there. I stopped at this bakery a little away from all the hustle and bustle. They had amazing choices of donuts, fried Dutch treats, chocolates, turnovers, and pizza-ish things. I always ask what is most popular so I can have the server make my decision for me. She told me the "hot dog grot" was chosen by many visitors. This thing looked insane. It's essentially a footlong hot dog smothered in cheese and ketchup. Absolutely delicious!

Next- I decide to walk all around Jordaan. The nice waitress I met last night told me this is where many locals hang out. It is such a beautiful area. Canals, apartments, lovely people, etc. I also walk through an area with lots of super cute boutiques. It took all my might to resist my "I love to shop" attitude, because that's not why I'm here. I keep walking aimlessly so I stop at Screaming Bean for an espresso. I met 2 girls from Germany who were traveling on "holiday" as they call it. They are so friendly and show me a map of how to get to the Van Gogh museum. All day I was back and forth on if I should go to Vondelpark, Red Light District, Van Gogh, or Anne Frank house. My thought process: many people advised me to buy online tickets for Van Gogh and Anne Frank - online tickets were sold out for Anne Frank and I heard the queue line is ridiculous without an advance ticket- so those ideas were cancelled in my mind. The guy I met from Georgia told me he went through the Red LIght district during the day and it was really really strange. I figured
The DamThe DamThe Dam

People and pot
day time would be best for me to visit because I am traveling alone.

Well- meeting these German girls instantly changed my mind because they said the line for Van Gogh was nonexistent. It's incredible how everything happens for a reason. After saying our goodbyes, I attempt to use photographic memory of the map they showed me to guide myself to Van Gogh. Amsterdam is full of side streets, so if you don't know the area well, it seems a bit confusing. I see a building with flags representing several countries so I step inside to find it is a hotel. The front desk attendant had beautiful eyes and was so friendly to provide me with a map and verbal directions.

After walking through the tiny streets and passing the lovely canals and also passing the entrancr for Vondelpark, I make it to this huge open area where I see museums, food stands, and the I Amsterdam letters. I was dying for some ice cream, but the first stand I approached only had soft serve vanilla= boring. I walked down to the next stand and AHHH heaven. I got a stroopwafel which is syrup waffle and it is
Wake Up! Wake Up! Wake Up!

Espresso at Screaming Beans
two toasted waffle cone pieces smooshed together with this caramel syrup ooey gooey sauce! Heaven! I chased it with a fresh squeezed orange juice and it was so refreshing considering how warm it was today.

the Van Gogh museum is an experience of its own. Right when I walked in, there was a talented group of girls alongside a small band singing something beautiful. It was so cool to be in a museum while there was live music. The museum is 4 levels with painting after painting mostly created by Van Gogh and some other pieces by Claude Monet, Emile Bernard, and other artists. I really enjoyed analyzing each painting and observing the different strokes and Color styles. Van Gogh recycled many of his paintings to save money, or if he was done with a study and no longer had use for the previous painting. He would also paint on the back of other paintings which is really neat. There were many quotes throughout the museum about perspective which really hit home for me. Also - Van Gogh did not become an artist until he was 33. He was some sort of craftsman until he realized he wanted to switch gears. I thought this was interesting because I know many people my age who are struggling to find themselves personally and professionally (myself included). The fact that he started his world renowned profession at 33 gives me hope that we don't always have to have things figured out yet! There is still time after your 20s to figure it out 😊

Next, I decide- I'm going to the Anne Frank house just to check it out. As I'm walking towards it, I pass canals with boats loaded with young people, blasting music, and sipping alcoholic beverages. Seriously - what a lifestyle. I so badly wanted to sit by the canal and act Dutch and have one of them pick me up! That reminds me i've had several people ask me if i am Scandinavian or speak to me in Dutch. I guess I am blending in well!

It's around 820 when I arrive and guess what?! NO LINE at Anne Frank house (happy dance goes here)! Unfortunately the museum closed at 9 so I had to sprint through. I was hesitant but wasn't sure when I'd have the opportunity to come back. My heart was so heavy
Midday SnackMidday SnackMidday Snack

Stroopwafel and OJ
the moment I stepped foot inside. I remember reading Anne's diary when I was in grade school and feeling hurt and anger for what her family and others experienced. The Secret Annex has the atmosphere that just consumes you. You can feel a fraction of the fear and worry that Anne and the 7 others under went- I will never underestimate the true experience of living life as they had to. The house was empty for the most part - the Nazi's demanded things be taken out. Anne's father, who is the only one who survived the concentration camp, created scale-models to show what things were like. The moveable book case was still present, with books still on the shelves. The staircases within the house were incredibly steep and my size 9 foot was larger than the length of each step, lol! We go into rooms where the windows are covered. Anne's diary tells us the curtains cannot be opened at all. One part of the house that really touched me was pencil line marks indicating Anne and her sisters Margot's growth during the 2 years they were in the home. Next, we stepped into Anne and Fritz's room. There were pictures of celebrities and artwork. The bathroom they all shared is next. The toilet and sink are still there. The toilet is a white and blue design and Victorian written on it. It's probably the prettiest toilet I've ever seen ( I know that sounds weird, but you'd have to see it). Peters room and the attic are very memorable to me. Anne states that she and Peter go up there often to look at the sky and listen to the birds. It's the only real place in the house where they can see the world. the end of the tour approaches at the front of the house, where they house inhabitants were arrested and dropped off at concentration camps. This is where I learned that Anne's father is the only one who survived. There is a video clip of him talking about his feelings toward Anne's writings. He says he was so impressed with how deeply she felt of the situation and had no idea until he read her work. He then says he believes many parents don't understand their children as well as they think they do... I thought that was a great statement and definitely holds
SunflowerSunflowerSunflower

Van Gogh's second version of the original
true in some families. I signed the guest book and felt so many mixed feelings after leaving the house. It was a moving experience to be in the actual hiding spot. I never thought in a million years I would get to experience it.

At this point, I have probably walked about 3-4 miles, so I was once again, starving! Im close by Jordaan again so I search for a local hang out spot. I come across The Pancake Bakery, which I read about in a magazine and saw on four square. They had seriously any and every type of pancake you can imagine! pancakes with chicken, salmon, Thai-style, mushrooms, etc. I feel like I'm explaining shrimp like Bubba Gump! I couldn't decide between sweet or savory so the waitress helped me choose a pancake covered in bacon and apples. My oh my was it good or what! I washed this one down with a white draft beer- mmmm mmmm mmmm.

Next, I set forth on my mission for the Red light district. Yes , it's about 930 pm and I want to go here by myself. I stumble across a couple and ask them if they know
Wheat field after a stormWheat field after a stormWheat field after a storm

My favorite paintings involved blue and green colors
where the red light district is- low and behold- they are tourists too from Sweden and definitely some of the friendliest people I've ever met. They were headed the same direction so as a wide eyed and curious team, we decided to take on the Red Light district together. Honestly, it wasn't as wild as I thought. Basically it is window shopping for women. Some of them actually are really really pretty. I felt kinda bad for them. When Emma and I walked past one girl, she covered her eyes at us- we thought maybe it was because she was embarrassed? Some women were old! One lady was sitting there basically naked and drinking coffee- lol! It was definitely an experience for sure. I'm so happy I met Noah and Emma. I was walking in the opposite direction and I wouldn't have made it there for a while if it wasn't for me speaking to them! As expected, there were so many guys there. One guy was stumbling so badlym Emma, Noah, and I couldn't help but laugh. We look back at him and his friend, and the drunken one's said BEST MAN. Killer bachelor party idea!

I decide its probably a bit too late for me to continue to be out on my own, so I head back to Central Station. But first - I need some frites! Apparently the French fries with mayo and ketchup sauce is really popular. I stop at this restaurant to grab some and it took FOREVER! I begin walking back to the stop and see #33 so I haul buggy, with my bag of French fries and all! The bus is incredibly crowded and let me back track so you can understand how lucky I am.

Sen and I had a little trouble opening Irina's flat yesterday morning. Well- I had trouble on my own as well. Irina is in Germany at the moment but thankfully her roommate is here! Her room mate helped me get inside last night. Well---- today--- Irina was unable to touch base with her roommate because she was at a work function all afternoon. I called Irina 3 times while I was on the bus to see if her other friend was still coming to help me get inside. While I'm on the bus, I look back and see a girl who I think hmmm that girl really looks like Irina's roommate. Well- still no answer from Irina yet so I begin brainstorming ideas.... I could sleep in the elevator bay... lol! Irina calls back to inform me her friend will still be coming to let me in - so I am relieved. I get off the stop and the same girl who I thought I knew gets off on my stop but she walks very briskly! I try to keep up and she is very intelligent bc she keeps looking back to make sure I'm not a sketch ball. I do the same thing to make sure no one is behind me. on her third turn around, I have the guts to say " I'm not scary, I'm an American! My friend lives in these last apartment buildings. Oh my gosh, what's your name? Are you Olga? Irina's roommate?" insay this so fast that i could barely understand myself! She responds with yes and I give her a huge hug and we both start dying laughing!! I call Irina and she couldn't believe it! Olga and I safely walk to the apartment and she wants to show me how to use the key-- she can't make it work either! So Ms. Irina - you must have magically strong super powers to get that door open 😉

Moral to my day is : it started out with the vision that I wouldn't be able to do anything I wanted because I woke up too late and had no clue where I was going. What actually happened: i got to do and see everything on my list because I interacted with strangers and was confident I'd find my way, someway, somehow.

Xo,

AJS


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb