Amsterdam


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
July 19th 2006
Published: July 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in Amsterdam and I must admit I didnt take an immediate liking to the place at all. Just went wandering and had some Indonesian for dinner. There is a big asian influence in the area which I havent seen so much in Europe, because the Netherlands colonised a lot of asian countries.

I wasnt at all interested in the red light district of Amsterdam but ended up going as Cam, Georgia and Sarah wanted to see it. It was quite surreal walking down this canal past lines of red lit window boxes with bikini clad girls posing in the windows and stunned, gaping men loitering out the front. One looked quite like Paris Hilton which I suppose shouldnt be a surprise!

A lot of hostels provide breakfast over here but Ive never seen breakfast like this before. There was bread and jams, hard boiled eggs and straz. It was different..

I toured down to the warf to see the VOC ship 'Amsterdam' and then went to a couple of markets. I got sooo lost attempting to find a park and must have covered the entire place. I wish i had a pedometer.

That night Cam and
AmsterdamAmsterdamAmsterdam

One of the many canals running through the city
I met up with Sarah and Georgia who were on a pub crawl and went to a random bar with average music. Shakira's new song is massive over here and there were also other ones including Elvis and the ketchup song, what the!?

In the hostel I had absolutel no chance of sleeping as the windows didnt open and it was at least 10 degrees hotter in there. It was effectivel a sauna. I had to dowse a towel in water and lie on that to get some relief.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

AmsterdamAmsterdam
Amsterdam

VOC ship the Amsterday, back from the Dutch east india company days


Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb