sew your Holland oats?*


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
June 27th 2006
Published: June 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I am the shortest person here. Not in this hotel, in the country.

For the Monday night trivia team that sort of never was but kinda existed for a few weeks:
Rembrandt:
A. money-back guaranteed tooth whitening system
B. band that sang the catchy, upbeat yet poignant Friends theme song
C. 17th century self-portrait king o' the netherlands
D. All of the above

Amsterdam is fun. I went for a three hour run today around a park in the Museumplein (sp?) section of town. I don't know if it has anything to do with the cardiovascular abuse many an Amsterdam resident inflicts upon his lungs, but WAY fewer people passed me than in my beloved runs along the Charles. Also, the preferred method of transportation around here is the bicycle, which makes for a quieter, smog-free jog.

Results of a rousing game of "I went to a party and I brought" which Sara and I played on a picnic:

I went to a party and I brought...
Amy Grant
Bob Dylan
Cat Stevens
Donovan
Edward Scissorhands
Froderick Frankestein
Gordon Lightfoot
Howdy Doody
Icabod Crane
Jack Keroac
Kurt Vonnegut Jr.
Lionel Richie
Monica Lewinski
Nancy Reagan
Octopussy
Prince
Queen Elizabeth I
Richard Marx
Stephen Dedalus
Triton comma King
Upton Sinclair
Van Morrison
Woodrow Wilson
X-men
Yasser Arafat
Z

I actually forget who z was. Zelda Fitzgerald? Ziggy Marley? Zeppo?


We have booked our room for six nights and then plan to head toward Spain. We are staying at Hotel Tamara. Which is the sister to hotel Tia, though they didn't know they were sisters until late in life and are now trying to forge a relationship and make up for lost time.

Amsterdam does just about everything right. The only suggestion I can make is that they make a better distinction between where CARS and BIKES go and where PEDESTRIANS go, because at present it is SLIGHTLY murky. There are about six stoplights in the whole city and I, so far, have proven a danger to myself and those around me. It is a miraculous sight, especially for a Bostonian, all of these cars and bikes just moving through the streets, with seemingly NO indication of who goes where when, and everyone is just smiiiiling away. No horns. No lights. It's because they are all so tall, I think. In France, you are constantly walking around with your head pointed up because you are looking for the eiffel tower. In Amsterdam, you are just trying to make eye contact.




*alternative blog titles, equally as irrelevant:
- The Hoegaarden of Eden
- Amsterdam Yankees
- Anne Frank and Beans

Advertisement



27th June 2006

amsterdam is awesome, you should take a bus up into the country somewhere and take a walk back...chances are there will be a cheese/clog making shop on your way...the people there are so nice. im glad you guys are having fun!
27th June 2006

Collections
My book Timequake was a collection of observations and thoughts not unlike a 'blog' of today. Hi ho!
27th June 2006

Crack me up
The alternate titles actually made me laugh out loud. So did the looking up for eye contact joke. I miss that place a lot. Did you find Olympiakead nine? Love you guys. dad
27th June 2006

We were in Amsterdam and I agree, the traffic flow is nuts. I was amazed throughout the entire trip that I did not see any car accidents. 6 way intersections with each direction having a lane each for walkers, cars, bikes, and trains.

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb