The Amsterdamage!!!


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
September 15th 2011
Published: January 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The bus ride to Amsterdam was electric; half the bus was standing everyone was walking around like they were in a club, talking, mingling, having pringle eating contests (I believe the record was 24), you could actually feel the energy.

After a brief stop at a clog and cheese factory we rolled into Amsterdam; and what a dump! Really, it was just dirty, but I guess we were in the outer, dodgey, suburbs. Nevertheless we found a “coffee shop” just around the corner so we all made a dash for it. So funny, we’d been in town an hour and half our tour was baked, and by the time we got on the bus to go to the sex show that night probably 40 of the 42 of us were half-baked.

<span> Now admittedly, I expected the sex show to be tame, loaded with Contiki cheese, but wow, how wrong could I be. When these two came out fucking to a Rammstein soundtrack I was speechless. It was definitely hard core.

After that, more pot and on to the red light district. This was an eye-opener too, amazingly hot women in little glass cages like shopping for a new puppy or something. It really brings new meaning to the term window shopping. And for only 50 euros for the full package, they were relatively cheap too. The groups of us sort of joined, split off, then joined again as we all wandered between bars, coffe shops, peep shows, red lights and whatever else this amazing city had to offer. Strangely enough, around 2am, everything shut. All the pubs closed, and about 70% of the red lights were off. It was if someone switched off the city, so strange for a city with such a great nightlife.

The next morning was paddle boat rides down the canals. I took one of my pre-rolleds for a bit of entertainment and we ended up taking the longest possible way to get to where we had to go, but we had a lot of fun. After that we had a few beers at a pub and headed to the Heineken factory. I was glad to then get a nap in before dinner.

Dinner wasn’t quite the ‘last supper’ feel I expected it to be. All separate tables, no one giving speeches, it was just like any other dinner really. That night in town I was keen to hit the space cakes, so I went with everybody’s hippy friend Olly to this awesome coffee shop he found where the fans move reeeeaaallllllyyyyyy slowly, so slow you weren’t sure whether you were imagining it or not ha ha ha so cool, just a really cool vibe. As I was already getting baked I only went half a cake to be on the safe sidethen me and Olly sat there having some awesome conversation, Olly was the first person I sat next to on the bus at the start of the tour, and here we both sat together on the last night of the tour, it was really good to see things go full circle you know :-).

The next morning was sad, 14 people stayed behind in Amsterdam, and well I was doing ok till Nick says to me “I’ll never forget Juan Le Pins”, that nearly broke me. It was sad for everyone to wave to those guys from the bus window after spending 6 weeks together.

But it has definitely been the time of my life.



Keywords from Amsterdam:

Shemales

Canada

Dale jumping the fence





After Amsterdam it was back into London, and as we drove in Alex played “Walking on a dream”, our tour song, and the realisation hits everyone that this is the last time we’ll sit on this bus. And as frustrating as it is sometimes, it’s been the only constant on this epic adventure we’ve been on, and in the blurry haze of Europe it was the bus that felt right, it was home.

Another funny story of Contiki was the dares. We had to each write down a dare for the person next to us, to be completed at any time before the end of the tour. Then they went into a hat to be read out but before Alex read them out we heard the catch. The catch was that we each had to do our own dare, the one we gave to the other person, it mad for some really fun times, I had to propose on bended knee to every girl on the bus, which I did progressively throughout the tour, and to my surprise I got all yes's :-D. Even if Stacey did demend that I buy her a ring :-).

Other dares included:

Cup the balls of the paragliding instructor

Wear a ladies g-string for a day (a bloke)

Wear underwear on the outside to dinner

Dance on the bar

Not speak for 24 hours

One girl had to flash her boobs to a complete stranger

Damn I wish I could remember the rest. Heaps of fun though, good memories :-).



That night in London we all had drinks and there were a lot of sad goodbyes. I just hope I get to see everyone again soon. Even Alex said, it’s the tightest crew he’s ever had, and it’s true, we were a family and I will miss everyone dearly.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb