Parting Notes/Amsterdam


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
November 1st 2009
Published: November 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Concert-Gebouw, illuminated 21 secs
I am absolute crap at taking videos, so you can imagine my surprise at capturing this unusual scene of the Concert-Gebouw at night. We were on our way home, looking for a tram, when we stumbled upon it. I hope it works on your computer, since it's worth viewing, it really is.

An hour before, sitting at dinner, Ron and I were discussing what we felt were the "bests" of our month in Holland. For me, it was easy. I loved riding my bike, even in the rain, down the smaller canals beside Marianne's house. These weren't the glamourous canals of the city, flanked by stately houses and laced with romantic bridges. Some were no more than glorified ditches, so choked by a carpet of green algae that you felt you could almost walk on top of them. Others were blue and tranquil, doubling the reflections of herons, clouds and the sky.

Best taste? For me, it was a shaving of fenugreek cheese, tasting exactly like walnuts. For Ron, it was either the duck liver parfait, served with stewed figs and little beads of champagne jelly, or the golden slab of fried fish, hot and crunchy from a market stall. Honourable mention goes to pannekoeken, tender as a newborn's skin.

Best sounds came from Idan Raichel's piano. Best scent was the Albert Cuypstraat Market at closing time, smelling alternately of fish, and then licorice. The Dutch department stores noticed a marked increase on sales of Sloggis, Ron's favourite underpants. The soft cotton waistband is really a treat, and I've been told they are wonderfully supportive. So I guess Sloggis win out in the category of best touch. Best sight (Ron's) was of Leiden rooftops on a rainy day, seen from a fourth floor department store cafeteria. After buying underpants. Best sight (Liz's) was Vera, hugging her hot water bottle.

In our high-tech world, it's still the low-tech that sustains us.

Advertisement



5th November 2009

great bests
Barb and I will have to accumulate our own. Best award goes to you both who gave us an amazing trip. I'm now home - got home last night. Terrific time in NY. I'll send Ron's pic of that 4th floor view and a pic of the twins. Gotta get on with life here in Berkeley. Never bad! And you - are eating baguettes right now I bet. Can't wait to hear. much, much love, Vera
5th November 2009

Parting notes
I cansee how you two enjoy all the good things in live such as shorts do enjoy your story telling is wonderful.
5th November 2009

sloggis
To think that I have only one pair , a wise gift from a friend. Now I face every day, unless it is a sloggi day, feeling vaguley insecure and unsupported. I have looked in vain for something even close and have, alas accepted my fate. Better to be like Fred in his old Stanfields and not know any better.
5th November 2009

WOW!
What a spectacular sight to see the Concert Gebouw and the reflection of the tram. You captured it beautifully and have elevated yourselves to serious videographers. Loved your 'bests'. You have also given us a delightful glimpse into your tranquil neighbourhood that abounds with simple pleasures. Love, Miri
6th November 2009

love the sound of everything
wish i could join you...........

Tot: 0.209s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 18; qc: 103; dbt: 0.1656s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb