Amsterdam: Disneyland with Drugs..


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
July 29th 2009
Published: September 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After leaving Rotterdam and The Hague I headed north towards the Mecca that is Amsterdam or as I now like to call it “Disneyland with Drugs”. I guess it’s just one of those places you have to visit if you get anywhere near Holland. In fact whilst talking to some other travellers along the way I soon realised it’s a rite of passage for some people... one of those places you have to see at least once before you die.

So who was I to argue… all I could do was go and check it out for myself.

But on the way I had a couple of spare days and unlike most other travellers to Holland I decided that I wanted to see more than just naked woman in standing in windows, legalised cannabis and dirty smelly canals.. (haha, you can tell I liked it hey) so I also took the time to visit a little town 25 minutes away from Amsterdam called Utrecht. Once again like so many other places, Utrecht was a person recommendation by someone.. these are gold when you meet fellow travellers. If you ever get them and you trust the person… do it! Always!

All in all I spent only two nights there and three full days but I have to tell you it was simply brilliant. I think if I ever had to base myself in Holland I would definitely live in Utrecht. It was kinda like a smaller version of Amsterdam but without all the tourists. Fundamentally it’s a university town so there’s lots of young people around and always something happening.

Whilst I was there I made a couple of really good new friends (Hi Kel and Angelo). We had a blast together and even knocked of a rather large bottle of gin on one of the nights. In fact by coincidence we were all heading to Amsterdam after Utrecht and on the same day so we made a nice little road trip out of it… the whole 25 mins on the train. Haha. In fact for me it was quite a treat having some other people to ‘travel’ with as such, as I’ve pretty much been doing it solo now for 8 months everywhere else (expect for Laos and Cambodia).

Then we hit Amsterdam. WOW, and you would read about it but I managed to time my visit there to coincide with “Gay Pride Week” or Amsterdam’s version of Carnival. Needles to say Amsterdam had an extra couple of hundred thousand tourists there that weekend on top of all the normal ones. (certainly explains why it was so hard to get accommodation there before hand). Luckily we were all sorted though and I was also meeting another good mate there a couple of days later so we had a nice little possie sorted.

Highlights in Amsterdam included a really cool night at an old school Jazz Bar, Ben’s Big Burger Challenge (which nearly killed him by the way), the massive Pride street parties on every night, window watching with beers on the side of the canal (you had to be there??) and the expected coffee shop visits. Overall a cool 5 days in Amsterdam but I must admit I’m not in a hurry to go back….

Oh and the place we were staying at was literally in between a couple of windows right in the middle the main street in red light area. I should have known, after all it was called ‘The Heart of Amsterdam”. Don’t worry though (especially you Mum) it was all above board but every time you walked out of the place and down the stairs onto the street you still felt a little seedy… If you’ve ever been there you’ll know what I mean… but good for the laughs though.

And then finally leaving Amsterdam I was a little sad mainly because everyone split and went their separate ways as usual. To be honest that’s probably one of the most frustrating parts of my trip/travels this year. Just as soon as you get to know someone or make some new friends in a new place, you’re off again. Don’t get me wrong this year has been brilliant but when you’re constantly moving every 5-7 days it gets pretty tiring after a while..

That being said, I wouldn’t swap it for anything right now! Bring on the next adventure…

Cheers, TD


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



28th September 2009

I do read but not comment!
After all the communication today on brokerscarbon I thought a comment might be apt. No use apologizing to Mom! I know what you are up to!! Thats the trouble with blogs. Evidence everywhere. Anyway, thats only envy speaking.I have been following your blogginf trail of destruction all over the place! You will remember this trip forever so make the most of it. You don't need comment from someone my age. Love and best wishes from your other home and family---- Niki, Tracy, Lilian and Alec in Africa.
29th September 2009

Blog
Alec, hahaa..... yes, certainly no complaints from my end! Cheers, ND
20th October 2009

amsterdam!
hahaha!! i cant believe ben actually went back to actually eat the burger. wow! i hope your journey is going well. i finally made it back to SF! hit me up on facebook or whenever your in San Francisco! Cheers!

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0208s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb