Amsterdam - Part II


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
May 30th 2009
Published: May 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

As for the rest of my weekend in Amsterdam - Saturday evening we went out to eat at an Italian restaurant close to the Hostel. Then Matt and I went to Nieuwmarkt square, which was the same area I went to with the kid from Chicago the night before. In the center of the square is a building called De Waag which apparently used to be a gate in the medieval city walls then was converted to a weighing house in the 17th century and the square surrounding it was a market. Then in WWII the square was used as a collection point for Jews. Now, De Waag is a restaurant and the square consists of pubs and cafes with lots of patios. I think there is still a market there from time to time. So, we stopped and had a drink at a couple of different pubs there and then stopped at a place or two close to the hostel on the way home.

The weather was phenomenal on Sunday, so I picked up some fruit, bread and ham at a shop, Matt picked up some McDonalds and we ate lunch at Vondelpark. Most of the day was spent walking around and lounging at the park. The place was packed and there were sporadic street musicians. This guy sitting near us attracted a lot of attention -- he was playing some newly invented instrument from Switzerland. Sunday night Matt and I went to dinner at a restaurant near the hostel that was really good, but I can't remember what it was called. We had some sort of home brewed beer there. Then we headed to Leidspelein, which is another square with lots of bars, restaurants and street vendors. We sat outside and had a few beers, watched some silly street performer who never actually did anything and then headed back to the hostel.

Getting to the airport in the morning was a bit of a task, as a lot of the public transport wasn't running and the trains that were running were infrequent. Matt kindly walked me to the central station at about 4:30am so that I could catch the 5am train to the airport. It was close - but I made it fine and made my flight back to Copenhagen.





Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



13th June 2009

The restaurant we ate at sunday night
I dug a bit online and I found the website of the place we went. http://www.kopvanjut.com/ The site is all in dutch but I know its the same place from the logo which was on the beer.
17th June 2009

hi
Need more updates. Love you and Miss youo

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb