Part Two: Amsterdam (the septic tank of Europe)


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
February 24th 2009
Published: February 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to part 2:

So we arrive at the pub, expecting to just have a few drinks and relax (well clearly there was no chance of that happening). The drinks in Amsterdam are expensive with a double jack and coke costing 18 euro (and by double I mean they didn't measure, so it was probably like 3). Here is a trick if you ever plan to visit (which you should do...but make it a 1-2 night trip), tell the bartenders you only have 3 Euro, but you want to have a good time. The double jack and coke that was aforementioned was sold to me for only 3 euro! Then...I somehow magically got 3 more Euro, telling him a friend lent to me, and I they sold me another! It was amazing. Then for some reason which I will never know, the bartender brought not 1....not 2....but 3 (let me spell that out THREE) rounds over to us for NO COST!!! It was (is) unbelievable....but it happened, I have pictures.

In the middle of all this excitement, the Cotton Eye Joe came on. I don't know how well you know me...but...I LOVE to dance. If this song wasn't an invitation...... Attached you will see Lindsey and I partaking in what would commence the impromptu dance party. A few songs later, the door opened and in walked 7 Irish women wearing pink cowboy hats. They attempted to do the Irish Jig...failed miserably, and left. On their way out I high-fived all of them for wearing matching hats....go figure.

Then in came Richard and his 6 lovely ladies. Richard is a dentist who hails from....(like I remember). He took his 6 dental hygienists to Amsterdam for a weekend getaway, all expenses paid (where do I sign up?). They were SO much fun! After having a few themselves, our groups collided and we threw a 5 hour long dance party! Did I mention the women were average age 50? They loved me! Richard had a great time dancing with the girls, and the free drinks the bartender gave us were GREATLY appreciated.

After having a great night, it was 2:30am...and time to head home to the Red Light District. The good part about living there, is that it wasn't deserted....in fact, the party there was just starting.

Sunday brought about some more educational activities (seriously). We took a 3 hour free walking tour of Amsterdam and really learned a lot. We went by the old Jewish district, Amsterdam's narrowest house, the Amsterdam Historic Museum, and much more. The catch...you have to tip the guide.

After the tour was over, Deborah, Kait, and I went on a hunt for the Amsterdam letters that everyone else who went there from our school seemed to find. It was a long search, but when we finally discovered them, we were very excited. Deborah and I even took a picture sitting in the D because of our names.

The rest of the day was spent walking around some more. We tried to get to bed on the early side as we had to awake at 4:00am to go to the airport. At around 2:00am...some random person burst into our room, stared at Kait for what felt like 10 minutes, then stormed out. A) what the....???? B) I couldn't have been more happy to be leaving in 2 hours C) I still had 2 hours D) I barely was able to sleep anymore

4:00am rolls around and we head out to airport. As we are walking, a black car rolls up and the window goes down "Taxi?" YEA RIGHT. We politely decline and then Kait gasps extremely loud. We turn extremely fast to see what she's looking at, because after all...its 4:00am in the Red Light District. "What?" I ask. She responds "Oh...I thought that guy had a snake around his neck and I hate snakes." I wanted to kill her. My heart jumped and so many different scenarios ran through my head in those few seconds...and all for a fur-lined hood on a jacket. Oh Kait...gotta love her.

Then we flew home and the moment I stepped onto the floor of Heathrow, I kissed my hand and placed it on the ground. I was home.....alive.

Londoner,
Sir Darren Nigel Goldberg III of Maida Vale


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.033s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb