Amsterdam


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
October 19th 2008
Published: October 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Canals, crooked buildings, bikes, sex and the periodic smell of weeds in the air. Amsterdam is truly a unique and diverse city.

The Markets
I had the most fun in the markets! It was definitely worthwhile to spend sometime walking through Albert Cuypmarkt, Bloemenmarkt and Waterlooplein. At Waterlooplein, I found quite a few interesting things that are not legal in the U.S. There were also charming antiqued Delftware. Bloemenmarkt was filled with colorful flowers and a wide variety of bulbs. Cannabis starter kit can be found here too! Food is always on my major attraction list. We had some more fries with curry ketchup (I love curry ketchup!), herrings with pickles, syrup waffles at Albert Cuypmarkt. (This is how we fulfilled our stomachs without breaking the bank).

The Red Light District
I walk through it three times at different time period. The district was fascinating but unerotic. More or less, it was like window shopping. I have to say while it is interesting to see something different. But, it is "just there", exactly what our new Dutch friend said.

Rijksmuseum
To my surprise, I enjoyed the museum very much! "The Masterpieces"exhibit was smaller than what I expected, but it display all the popular works. Next to each panting is a brief description about the paintings, in both Dutch and English, which made it a much more educational experience. One of the collection highlights is the famous "The Nightwatch" by Rembrandt. I was completely drawn into the painting. Did he or did he not paint himself? Only Rembrant would know.

Anne Frank House
The hiding place of the Frank and Van Daan family. Walking through the house reminded me of my visit to Dachau concentration camp memorial site last week. Just depressing. Hiding and living in fear for two years is not something I can imagine. The betrayal that lead to the family's unfortunate fate to concentration camps was tragic. Anne Frank House brought the story alive.

Coffee Shop
Nah....... too coward to try. But, they are everywhere.

Jillz
A new sparkling cider blend by Heineken. It was yummy, refreshing and bubbly. I wonder where i can find it back home.

Next time, when I return to Amsterdam, it would have to be during the tulip festival. I would love to see lots and lots of colorful tulips!


It has been almost 2 weeks since we came back. I am suffering severe post-vacation withdraw syndrome. Signs and symptoms include depression, restlessness, and day-dreaming at work. The only cure to date is ANOTHER VACATION!


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Flower MarketFlower Market
Flower Market

View from a bridge
BikerBiker
Biker

A talent I lack


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb