Returning Time


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
November 30th 2007
Published: November 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Thank you to all of you for your love and support. We have 2-1/2 days in Amsterdam which we thought would be helpful. It has been quite the culture shock and weather shock. It is in the 30-40s here, damp, wet and cloudy--but we heard it is 9F in Mpls and 6-8 inches of snow are forecast for Saturday. The culture shock is being back in an industrialized, advanced country. I had a difficult time eating in a restaurant for lunch yesterday and realized that the price of our hotel room for a night is what one of the nannies at the baby home would make in two months. I have enjoyed the flower market here--flowers in late November and Christmas trees! Also, having Dutch pastries. But I miss the simplicity of Africa and the kindness of all the people we met. Here we are on slick trams (very nice) where no one smells of sweat, but somehow it seems wrong compared to a dala-dala ride and the chaos on the road in Arusha. Will look forward to seeing you. The peace of the Lord (remember she's black) be always with you.
Anne

Advertisement



1st December 2007

Remember it is normal to have challenges reassimilating
Do you remember me warning you about the re-entry process Anne? I will be here for your when you return. Call me at 952-944-2091 at home or cell phone 952-261-3771 so I can help. It is challenging to come home however you will find ways to make it meaningful as you journey through the transition. Well done oh good and faithful servants Tom, Anne and Olivia. God bless you. Elizabeth and family
1st December 2007

You are never the same after being to a third world country. Life takes on new meaning and you see how materialistic life in the USA is. I always have a hard time--I am definately a third culture adult now, American isn't home, Africa isn't home. Must be HEAVEN is my home! I am glad you all came!! Thank you. Davona
1st December 2007

Olivia's DVD
I found Phantom of the Opera that you left at my house. Shall I mail it to you? Davona
2nd December 2007

Thanks for keeping us updated
I've been checking in on your blog periodically and always mean to comment. It's been so interesting to be able to read your entries. Thanks for taking the time to share. Hope to be able to chat with you when you are rested. I'd love to hear more about your journey. Be in touch, Jodi

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.071s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb