Red Lights, Bikes, Trams, Streetcars, Metrorail and Ferries


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
September 5th 2005
Published: September 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Wow the people in Amsterdam really know how to get around...literally and figuratively speaking. I've been here for 2 days now and am still in awe of how many modes of transportation there are here. When crossing the street you have to watch out for buses, trams, cars and crazy bicyclists...it's nuts. And of course there is the sex industry to boot.

Went to the redlight district of Amsterdam last night and tonight (mostly to check in and see if the business is any different on the weekends as opposed to the weekdays, which it is not). The redlight is not exactly what I thought it would be. It is ctually a lot tamer than I expected, though I have been asked probably 20 times since I have been here if i wanted to buy some cocaine and/or exstacy.

Met some really cool people at my hostel and went out for some really good Argentinean food last night. This town is suprisingly diverse in its cuisine and the people here are from all over the world. But other than the smoke shops and redlight during the evening I think Amsterdam is a bit boring...never thought I would find myself saying that.

So tomorrow I spend the day in Rotterdam and then make my way to the ferry and then back to London. Then it is home on Wednesday. I have hundreds of pictures and stories to share....when I get back stateside I promise to finally post my 300+ pictures for all to see.

Alright so off for one more crazy night on the town in Amsterdam...crossing my fingers that it will be another night free of any bike/car/tram collisions.

Advertisement



5th September 2005

Glad you're having a great time seeing Europe. You wont enjoy the USA gas prices, here in St. Louis they were up to $3.19 gal, now down to $3.06 gal.

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb