Amsterdam


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
June 3rd 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Can you say Red Light District?Can you say Red Light District?Can you say Red Light District?

I can not say anyting about this - it's Amsterdam...and do not worry, illusion and angles were used in this picture, no inappropriate touching was necessary :)
I arrived in Amsterdam a little tired out but non the less eager to explore the famed Red Light District. I had no idea how beautiful Amsterdam was going to be…it is so over shadowed by everything else it is famous for. Speaking of which.. when I showed up at my hostel at least 20 pairs of beady, glazed eyes peered back at me, I couldn’t help but laugh at loud…which I think made some of the guests paranoid  I was lucky enough to meet up with a friend I met in Paris and an Australian I had met on the bus ride in, so we explored Amsterdam that night, many neighbourhoods including the red light district and countless river canals that are all throughout the city. To make it brief since I am now blogging from Spain and can hear salsa out of my window…Amsterdam is a gorgeous, romantic city that deserves enough time for exploring. The Netherlands has some incredible history behind it and Amsterdam is lucky enough to have the Anne Frank house.. which was incredible. The houses in Amsterdam are built leaning inwards with hooks above their windows because their staircases are narrow and circular
Dutch ClogDutch ClogDutch Clog

I am pretty sure someone had urinated in this shoe...and I think the guys behind us were eyeing our purses
and moving is impossible through the inside, so naturally people hook everything up and pull it up the outside! My last two nights in Amsterdam I spent with a CS host Xander, who was incredibly busy and always made time to meet up with me…Amsterdam was the most confusing city to navigate in I think, I was constantly doing laps. My last night I was taken to a Radio Bitches award show by a CS host Femke, who is herself in radio as well as everything else she manages to find time to do. She translated the entire show to me from dutch after taking me to a restaurant hidden away on ‘the nine streets’. I really loved Amsterdam and would love to return to again as well as explore some more of the Netherlands.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Walking around, getting lost, 1st nightWalking around, getting lost, 1st night
Walking around, getting lost, 1st night

Beautiful areas to get lost in with my South African and Australian friends
Houses Houses
Houses

Can't really see the lean in this shot but it is incredible - I have never sat down and watched some one move before :)
ClassicClassic
Classic

Right before this picture there was a violent outburst during a peaceful demonstration...in Dutch as well as other languages...kinda was a little surreal for me..
Last nightLast night
Last night

Xander and I at a little pub after the Radio Bitches award show


26th June 2007

We love Amsterdam!
Hey hey! Thnx for putting me in your blog. I feel so... flattered ;-) Nice to know you had a good time and you really have to come back. Gonna show you some nice clubs then too!

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb