Spring!


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
March 12th 2007
Published: March 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I'm a windmillI'm a windmillI'm a windmill

I don't think I generated much energy though.
It's officially gorgeous. It should seriously be a crime to be inside right now. It's a balmy 53* out with just a bit of a a breeze and a perfect cloudless sky. Amazing. On the way back from school I had to stop about twenty times to just sit and enjoy the fact that I was biking along in Europe on a beautiful day.

Yesterday a friend and I took advantage of the amazingness that is the weather right now and went on a bike ride down the Amstel river. The entire ride was the epitome of pastoral perfection. Children were having tea parties on the grassy banks, old couples were walking hand in hand, sheep bleated in the background, , little ponies grazed on the polders, and swans floated down the river. We rode for about an hour until we reached the little town of Ouderkerk aan de Amstel (Old Church on the Amstel) where we had a nice lunch. The town was ridiculously quaint and picturesque. It was such a perfect Dutch experience that I expected little cartoon tulips to start singing. I've also been inspired to start a window garden. So far the garden consists of forget-me-nots
PolderPolderPolder

*drool* Look at the massive amounts of lush greenness.
and lavender.


And contrary to popular belief, I do go out. In fact, I went out TWICE last week. Thats usually more than I go out in a month. One time was to a random modern art exhibit/club that featured a portable wall (???). The club featured lots of fun Dutch dancing and ended with a race to Febo and a "spicy" Italian. Don't worry...its not dirty...more of an inside joke for me to remember but would take too long to explain here. The other was a work party where the theme was 'domestically violent and violently domestic'. It was ...eh.

Speaking of work, it's been going rather well. I made 144 euro last week for about 12 hours of work. I brought 37 people into the club. I can't believe that I actually convinced 37 people to do something. While I was pitching to a group, one of the women turned to her friend and said "She's good...she's real good." It made me all sorts of happy. The job is also good for the ego since lots of foreign guys hit on you. I have about twelve Italian boyfriends now. My favorite was when this guy
Pony Pony Pony

Pony + green + sheep bleating in the background = omg ridiculous
called me over and signaled to use my pen and paper. He wrote 'hello' and 'you are very beautiful' before telling me 'You are my girlfriend'. I guarantee that those are the only three things he knows how to say in English. It was very cute.

I have friends coming in this weekend so that should be fun and I'll also be heading to the Delft and the Hague on Saturday.

Pictures to come soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

SheepsesSheepses
Sheepses

Don't worry....there are many more pics of sheeps.
Perfect CountrysidePerfect Countryside
Perfect Countryside

Alex and me with the Rembrandt statue and a windmill, tulips,and sheep in the background.
OuderkerkOuderkerk
Ouderkerk

I think I just died from quaint old dutch town overload.
PheasantPheasant
Pheasant

What do children draw? A pheasant ! Had to throw a Family guy reference in there.
*dead**dead*
*dead*

So purty.
*cuddle**cuddle*
*cuddle*

I probably spent about thirty minutes oohing and cooing over this baby sheep.
This is for dad...This is for dad...
This is for dad...

Look. A pink car. Lauren: 1 Dad: 0
So StylishSo Stylish
So Stylish

I had to roll up my pants because they kept getting stuck in the chain. Luckily I was wearing a striped sock and green polka dot shoes.
Representing the wessstsiiiiiideRepresenting the wessstsiiiiiide
Representing the wessstsiiiiiide

I'm so gangsta. Check out the sheep. I'm pretty sure he's thinking 'What? What? I'm gonna fight you!"
WhhheeeeeeeeWhhheeeeeeee
Whhheeeeeeee

They had a rope swing. There were sheep, little horses, tulips, and rope swings. Perfect.
AwhhhhAwhhhh
Awhhhh

We're so cute.


14th March 2007

Sounds idlyllic
Wow! It sounds idyllic. Will be interested to hear about "The spicy Italian" and "Febo". It sounds like you are having a wonderful time. I've dreamed of being in the Netherlands when the tulips are blooming. We've been having a heat wave, the 90's and mid 80's in the valley and Santa Clarita. Would love a balmy 70. Everything is beginning to bloom, trees, the plants in my patio garden. There is a nesting dove in my hanging pathos plant. Five house finches dominate the hummingbird feeder. I'm putting up a second one, so competition will be reduced. Be well!
17th March 2007

I love the "perfect countryside" pic. Can't get more Dutch than that. Not sure about your threads, green shoes for St.Paddy's Day I guess is okay.

Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0698s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb