The SUN!!!


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
February 15th 2007
Published: February 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So after about a week of nothing but gray skies and rain the sun finally came out. Of course I left my camera at home so I couldn't capture the rare occasion. Luckily a friend had her camera, so hopefully she'll send me the picture of us enjoying the sun's glorious rays...seriously, the picture shows our total rapture. I'm praying that the sun will be around a little longer so that tomorrow I can enjoy a sunshiney zoo. Today was spent mostly hanging around campus, working on a project, and researching trips to Norway with a friend. Apparently I'm going to Norway. As for the next few days, all I have planned is a trip to the zoo, a club outing and bicycle tour.

Speaking of...I have no clue what the traffic rules are here. I've tried to go with the flow and learn by doing, but I'm not sure how well its working out. I've had to slam on my break a few times and I'm sure I've caused people to slam on theirs. The biggest issue is left turns. There's oncoming bike traffic as well as people behind you. If you make the left turn, the oncoming traffic bikes get angry, if you stop and cause the people behind you to stop, they get angry. I have no clue how Amsterdamians manage to bike around without having to stop for turns. Another thing I can't really get used to is the smoking in cafes. It's just not enjoyable to eat lunch while choking on cigarette smoke.

Oh, if I haven't mentioned it before, Europe has the best Fanta.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0954s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb