Walking Tour of Amsterdam, Netherlands


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
May 4th 2017
Published: December 11th 2022
Edit Blog Post

I walked with TB friend (a nice Dutch Lady) to the Haarlem Station and caught a train to Amsterdam. Not far from Centraal Station she directed me to Basilick Van de H. Nicolaas (Basilica of St. Nicholas) where we toured this nice old structure with a nice pipe organ.

Then we walked behind Centraal Station and had a neat free ferry boat ride across the harbor. Then it was a quick walk to the Eye Bar Restaurant and had a small lunch. The restaurant had hudge glass windows with a great view of the Amsterdam harbor.

We walked a bit and met up with a good friend of my TB friend. We three walked a while and had a nice coffee break at the Grand Hotel Amrath. Then we walked around and they guided me to a Japonese food store where I purchased some Golji berries. We walked around Amsterdam and I saw places that the tourists never see. The two Dutch ladies had to move on and we were in sight of Centraal Station; so we said our good bys.

I walked back to Centraal station and made my way back to the Amadeus Hotel in Haarlem after a very good day.

On other days in different Netherland small cities I had meet-ups with a number of TB friends. They guided me (and assisted me) very well on my five week adventure in central and Southern Netherlands. Dutch hospitality is alive and well here!

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Amsterdam free ferry rideAmsterdam free ferry ride
Amsterdam free ferry ride

behind Centraal Station
Amsterdam free ferry rideAmsterdam free ferry ride
Amsterdam free ferry ride

(Eye Bar Restaurant in white building)
Eye Bar RestaurantEye Bar Restaurant
Eye Bar Restaurant

restaurant view
Grand Hotel AmrathGrand Hotel Amrath
Grand Hotel Amrath

coffee break
neat buildingneat building
neat building

TB friends


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb