Venlo without the coffee shops


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » Limburg
September 18th 2008
Published: September 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Station HotelStation HotelStation Hotel

Self explanatory, I'm guessing...
I woke up at 11 today, which was really nice. I don't think I've done that in a long time. Not a lot this summer, anyway. Kelsey and I promptly padded downstairs to make sandwiches and take them back up to the room to eat them. I plowed into Taylor in the dining hall, who looked rather confused as to why I was leaving after I just got downstairs. I grunted something about not being presentable, and rushed upstairs; my growling tummy was not happy. I really wanted to climb back into bed after ingesting the delicious sandwich, but homework - and lots of it - beckoned. I managed to complete my World Drama assignment and more than half of my Euro Music assignment before having to get ready for class. After my four-hour ethics class (yes, four hours. The man is a delight though, and kind of looks like a cross between a friend of mine from Harvard, and my grandfather. Odd, but quite a nice man), I went back up to the room to find Monty passed out on my floor, Taylor playing tetris on my computer, and Gabe and Ciera sitting on the windowsill. Our room seems to
Essence of GabeEssence of GabeEssence of Gabe

He loves Schweppes Ginger Ale, so this painted wall was very exciting.
be the place where it's happenin'. 😊 Gotta love that feeling.

We had decided earlier that we would hit up Venlo after I got out of class: Venlo is situated about 20 minutes outside Well, and is like a VERY small Boston. You can catch the train to Paris and Germany from there, as well as numerous buses throughout the Netherlands and Germany. It is also home to one of Holland's famed coffee shop, "Nobody's". That's probably because you feel like nobody after visiting it. I dunno. One way or another, we strategically avoided that place of employment during our visit.

As per usual, everything closes fairly early there, around 9, but better than Well, which closes down around 4-5. I had to legitimately speak Dutch to the bus driver, who had no idea what we wanted. It's getting easier to understand and learn the language, which is really exciting, but I still feel like a deer caught in headlights when someone speaks at me. Tonight I got to use, "Wanneer vertreckt de laatste bus naar Well?" to great success. Thrilling! I encountered another man in a little incense shop that said my Dutch was "perfect." How sweet.
Venlo Town HallVenlo Town HallVenlo Town Hall

It would be really cool if we had one of these in Rhode Island...
Probably untrue, but sweet nonetheless.

After wandering the brick streets of Venlo for a little while, popping into touristy shops, we all were starting to get a right bit peckish. We found a place called "Hemingway," which was serving soup and salad. Perfect, and the right price for a group of students. Taylor and I got "Uin Soep," (onion soup), Alysia and Ciera got tomaten soep, Kelsey got kaas broodje (cheese bread), and Gabe got Moestard Soep (mustard soup). Everything was deveen, and we left very contented.

Time to go finish my homework so there is nothing I have to do for next week. This may or may not work out very well. Gabe and I are planning the weekend tomorrow, amidst learning a scene and journeying a little.

Deep love,

T


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Speed DatingSpeed Dating
Speed Dating

We had to sit at separate tables. Kelsey and Gabe were on a date.
Kelsey arts outKelsey arts out
Kelsey arts out

Our attempt at artsy photography. Didn't work out too well.
The folksThe folks
The folks

Aren't they cute? They're cute.
ContentContent
Content

A very wonderful evening comes to a close!


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb