Home for the Holidays....


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » Limburg
July 1st 2008
Published: July 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Rene testing the pool! 4 secs
Hello again, from Limburg, again ! Have been here now for just over 2 weeks. It's only been 9 months (or thereabouts) since I left at the end of the last big trip, but that also meant I wasn't overly inspired (yet) to come up with any bright and clever travel plans. So when I got a wedding invite back in the motherland, it was good enough for me to get a ticket back and not worry too much about a holiday this year ! Well, sort of, I'm having a stop over in Singapore at the end of this trip, a whopping 3 days.... that almost counts !

Flew in on a Friday morning, straight to Dusseldorf (International airport these days, 17.5 Million passengers per annum!), had a powernap in the afternoon, and saw my dad's choir (and a few others) perform in the summer evening in Baarlo. I drove onwards on Saturday for Erik and Yfke's housewarming party (which was an extra excuse to fly out a day earlier). Rest of weekend was relatively quiet.

Tuesday, took mum and dad to Scheveningen, also taking my godmother along. Both my parents turn 65 this year, so my treat for that. My godmum turned 69 at the end of April... so that's a birthday present as well I guess. Stayed at the historic Kurhaus Hotel, and saw Tarzan, the musical in the evening. Musical taken after the Disney film, with "monkeys" flying across the stage and over our heads! All up a good trip.

Saturday was Vera and Julian's wedding, and also caught up with some other dutch friends... whom I know from Sydney. Julian, by the way, is an Aussie. Vera is Dutch, but her wedding day is the first time I met her in the Netherlands! In Riel, of all places !(map)

Great wedding, good party, and by accident also managed to see some of the lovely countryside around Riel. They're of on a cruise from Denmark, via Norway, to Scotland, and back. Sounds good... for next time !

In the time since, I've also managed to roadtest my brother's new pool..... or as my mum would say, "another way to spend the money I've spent on travelling".... digging a hole in the ground, and filling it with water?? Think not ! 😊

Have been to Utrecht again this week, caught up with Pieter and Marije,
Dad's choir in actionDad's choir in actionDad's choir in action

Boalderse Hofzengers
and also some other uni mates. Always enjoy Utrecht, a bit smaller than Amsterdam, but have done a bit of damage to the credit card in the mean time (Sale is on).

Tomorrow is my brother's pool christening party, and their "bronze" wedding aniversary (12.5 years). Monday I'm of to London for a day, then Singapore !

Till then !

Rene




Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Fleur, Julie and BrittFleur, Julie and Britt
Fleur, Julie and Britt

A rare quiet moment with the nieces !
Scheveningen beachScheveningen beach
Scheveningen beach

Kurhaus in the back
With the 2 TruusjesWith the 2 Truusjes
With the 2 Truusjes

Mum and Godmother (r)
Shoeshopping with the ladiesShoeshopping with the ladies
Shoeshopping with the ladies

... never can start to young with shoe shopping !


Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0809s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb