The Montenegrin way of Life


Advertisement
Europe » Montenegro
July 9th 2015
Published: July 10th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Kotor - 6th-8th July 2015
I didn't think it possible to fall in love with a destination instantaneously before even getting to your accommodation. Montenegro is a breathtakingly beautiful place. From crossing the border the bus winds around the coast to take me to Kotor, my home for the next 2 nights. When I get there, there's no time to waste. I am eager to explore this location. My accomodation is in the 'Old Town' and is fabulous. My room contains an old stone feature wall and I can see the church bells from my room. This ended up being the bain of my life when they chimed every hour and at 7am burst into another medley as if the hourly chimes weren't enough!! This was my first time staying in a hostel and I would certainly use them again. The staff were really helpful and had a wealth of knowledge on what to explore. I started with the remains of the Fortress which clung to the mountain behind the Old Town. It was hard work and baking hot but definitely worth the climb. There were perfect views of the Old Town below and the surrounding area. Hidden behind the Fortress below was a small church, so off I went to find the path to get me there. It was beautiful, you could still see the remnants of the colours on the walls. Outside the church was a small sign directing you to a house selling goats cheese and ham.  This was surreal to think someone lived in this remote area on a mountain. The view from the house was fantastic and the goats cheese amazing. My dining partner not so much!!  You all know my love of cats and this was one persistent puss!!! So much so that I ended up relenting and sharing my cheese. I took a different path back down which was shaded thankfully and then walked the town walls.  I freshened up and strolled through the 'Old Town' taking in all of its charm before stopping in a little restaurant for some dinner. I tried the local Montenegrin Ham followed by a medley of Squid, Tuna, Octopus and Sea Bass washed down with a couple of cheeky local vino. 😊 Its a small world as the following day I bumped into a lady I had met on a boat in Plitvice Lakes some 2 weeks earlier. It was nice to have a quick catch up as I had another tour booked. This included a boat trip to an Orthodox Church located on an island followed by a visit to a mussel farm to collect, prepare and cook lunch. It was really good fun. The owner and his son were great company as again this was another V.I.P. trip. The farm was located in a really beautiful part of the coast and I was lucky enough to stay most of the day and into the evening, relaxing, swimming, eating, drinking and enjoying the Montenegrin way of life.

Podgorica - 8th-10th July 2015
Podgorica is the capital of Montenegro and definitely not the usual tourist destination but it was nice to see a different perspective of the fascinating country whilst here for a brief time. I changed my trip about a week ago to avoid Albania to a destination I could still get a flight to Istanbul. My hotel looked very plush being 4 star so it was a nice treat or so I thought. It was hot here, really hot being 39°C at 5pm in the afternoon. 😊 I wandered the town and visited the Millennium Bridge, Orthodox Church and various sculptures throughout. I even stumbled upon a street with the name of my birth date, 13th July so maybe it was fate that dragged me here. Later I spent time watching the locals cool off in the river that runs through Podgorica and then kicked back enjoying an iced coffee whilst catching up with my Rambler friends at home after their own eventful day! 😊 Later that night I decided something healthy for dinner would be good idea for a change. So I headed to the restaurant in my hotel to check out what was on offer. Great I'll have the Chicken Salad followed by a fresh fruit platter. Everyone please heed my advice, healthy food, isn't always the right option with vomiting and diarrhea for the next 24 hours followed !!! 😞 !! Still, I was lucky enough to watch a film during what can only be described as the worst day of my trip so far. It was 'Spy' with Melissa McCarthy and is well worth a look. On a more positive note I feel I have lost a few pounds so every cloud and all that and there's me thinking that I'd get this issue in Turkey. Oh well I'm heading there next so at least I've had some training in what to expect. 😉.




Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



10th July 2015

Montenegro
What a stunning place. The photos look amazing ? You must be chilling out the more you travel to be sharing your food - especially with a cat! I always told you healthy food was bad for you ?? Bx
10th July 2015

Sounds like a fab place to visit, although I am suprised the cat survived a dinner date with you - are you sure you didn't wring it necks, cook it up with the mussels and that's what made you I'll ?
10th July 2015

You know me too well!!! It had nothing to do with the chicken! ;)
12th July 2015

happy birthday Anna!
Hello Anna! We're loving reading all about your travels, hope you have a lovely birthday! Love from Auntie Val, Helen, Sarah, Robert, Kerry, Josh & Zoe xxx
12th July 2015

Thanks all, glad you are all enjoying the blog.x

Tot: 0.251s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb