Paradise Bay


Advertisement
Malta's flag
Europe » Malta » Malta
August 5th 2012
Published: August 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


private lidoprivate lidoprivate lido

Shelves of bare rock
The Marfa Peninsula is Malta's final flourish before dipping beneath the water of the Comino Channel. Some of Malta's best diving spot are found along its northern coast. As it happened, i bought a snorkel for 10 euros only and I can't wait to try it! So, I planned to visit Ahrax Point which is at the extreme northeast of Malta (Lonely Planet rates Ahrax Point as the top-one diving and snoekelling point and highly recommends to visit). However, after I got to Cirkewwa and asked the drivers there, I found there are no buses to get to Ahrax Point at all. What I can do is to walk there. I gave up walking as it is too far away and I had to improvise at that moment. Finally I changed my plan to Paradise Bay which is just 5 mins walk from Cirkewwa ferry terminal and Paradise Bay is where I want to go as well because it is in the top 10 swimming spot in Lonely Planet.

Paradise Bay is a relatively small bay compared to others in Malta where you can see a narrow patch of sand below cliffs with a private lido, restaurant and a grand
P1140171P1140171P1140171

so clear
view of ferry slip. I stayed in the lido for the whole afternoon. One of the the reasons is I don't like get my body full of sand. And the the water of that sandy beach is kind of muddy. It is not clear enough to play snorkelling. That's why I do recommend to snorkel in the private lido only.

This is my second time to play snorkelling. I can clearly see a flock of fish swimming around in the water. What made me surprised today is I saw some sea urchin between the rocks. I tried to take one but failed coz it firmly attached to the rocks (As I tried to touch the sea urchin, I dove a little bit deeper. Then I took a breath with a mouthful of sea water....I almost drowned!). I am sure there are much more things further outside but I don't dare to swim further alone as I am just a beginner to play snorkelling and I am not good at swimming to be honest. I hope I can see jelly fish next time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

P1140193P1140193
P1140193

snorkelling


11th August 2012

PLAYING SNORKELING
Welcome to Travelblog Crazy Perry...keep practising the snorkeling...I've only done it a few times and am no expert but when I tried it at Krakatau volcano island in Java I swam near a tree branch in the water and wow...thousands of fish among the branches! Try that next time and tell me how you go. By the way what does Malta sea water taste like?
14th September 2012

Malta
Hi David. I didnt expect anyone would read and comment on my blog, i am so glad! Thank you. last week, I went snorkelling in a bay called Anchor Bay and Wow! i saw lots of black small fish around me and small crabs. Anchor Bay is hidden paradise. it is really really blue! Unfortunately i got stung by jelly fish, it hurts :( You have been to Krakatau volcano island? It sounds like a very beautiful place. If I hv chance, I would definitely visit there. btw, Malta sea water is very salty, I drank before!
14th November 2012

Malta Fantastic
Ha ! I love Malta ! I’m in Sliema at the moment. It’s really well! Culture3sixty organized my trip and I have all I wanted to! Go on their website: http://www.culture3sixty.com Have a good day!

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb