Malta Day 3


Advertisement
Malta's flag
Europe » Malta » Malta » Sliema
April 26th 2015
Published: April 26th 2015
Edit Blog Post

We ate dinner last night at a local restaurant and I had rabbit, which is a national dish here. They call it "fenek". I'm sorry I don't have a picture of it, but take my word for it, it looks and tastes like chicken. I was a little disappointed because I expected a more exotic taste. This morning the group rode in a bus to the little fishing village of Marasxlokk. The locals still go out and fish in little boats (see picture) and each one has the Eye of Osiris on the bow to ward off evil (see picture). After Marsaxlokk (the "x" is pronounced like "sh" in Maltese), we visited the megalithic ruins of Hagar Qin (don't ask me how to pronounce that one). These temples were erected before Stonehenge and even before the pyramids of Egypt. No one knows where the builders came from or where they went, but there are several big stone temples on Malta (see 2 pictures). Malta has a rolling countryside that looks like parts of England, although it doesn't get as much rain and consequently is not as green (see picture). Uncle Jim and I are enjoying our visit to Malta, but we both liked Tunisia better. Malta seems so tame after Tunisia's edginess. I never felt unsafe there, but I never tried to go out at night nor did I wander around alone and I have to admit that Malta is safer.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.37s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 13; qc: 64; dbt: 0.1753s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb