President Obama!!!


Advertisement
Macedonia's flag
Europe » Macedonia
November 5th 2008
Published: November 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I was planning on not mentioning anything on my blog about anything other than Macedonia, but...YES!!! I am so happy to have a president-elect Obama!

While I was in the U.S. teaching a 6th grade class, we were talking about different attributes of both Obama and McCain. The kids came up with Republican/Democrat, young/old, believes in universal healthcare/believes in status quo, supports war in Iraq/ doesn't support war in Iraq, etc. But not once did black/white come up and I could tell it was the furthest thing from the kids' minds. That was perhaps the proudest moment I've ever had as a teacher. Truly, the United States of America has lived up to its creed and has seen the American dream come to fruition.

MARTIN LUTHER KING: AUGUST 28TH, 1963
"I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: 'We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal.'

I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character."

P.S. I have two regrets:
1.) I'm not in the US to celebrate with my friends and family
2.) I still have not located my ballot at the U.S. Embassy in Skopje and this is the first election I've not voted in since I was 18. 😞 Good one to miss, huh?






Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb