Saunas, infared, burning plastic


Advertisement
Lithuania's flag
Europe » Lithuania » Kaunas
June 29th 2006
Published: July 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I have been around and in more saunas in the past three weeks than I have ever been in my life. I don’t know if it is a Lithuanian thing, or a European thing, or I’ve just missed out on something because I’m me, but they keep taking me to saunas. “What are your plans today? Do you want to go to sauna?” is a common question asked of me by my host family. So far I have been to two ‘spas,’ but they just call them ‘saunas.’ Each one has had three different kinds of saunas—some are Finnish, some are traditional, some are disco-themed, some are dry, some are more like a steam room. At the last spa there was one that was called an ‘infrared sauna.’ Isn’t infrared, like, some sort of pollutant? Toxic rays or something?
We go into one sauna, get out, rinse off, swim a bit, and then into another sauna we go. Three hours of sauna-ing. And my host father and brother have a much higher tolerance for the sauna than me.

I learned the other day that Juozas, my host father, met his wife in the sauna. And then today, I followed my host father down to the basement, and I learned that we have a sauna in our house. That’s right….a sauna down in the basement! In our house!!

Also in the basement is a room where they put all paper and plastic waste(piled high on the floor), then in the winter they use it as fuel for the wood stove. I didn’t question Mendaugas about burning plastic, but it does concern me that they heat their house by burning plastic to heat their home. Good thing I’m only staying here for the summer…..


Advertisement



3rd July 2006

I Feel Cheated
First of all... I can't believe there is a sauna in the basement. Second... I can't believe that I didn't get a chance to try it out. haha... of course Juozas would have a sauna in the basement. Anyways... I hope all is well and that your arm hasn't fallen off yet.

Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0758s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb