Dancon March


Advertisement
Europe » Kosovo » East
November 25th 2009
Published: December 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Me and my 22 pound packMe and my 22 pound packMe and my 22 pound pack

Photo courtesy Deputy G1
These Army people sure are crazy, it’s just one thing right after another. This time I got invited to be a participant in the world famous Dancon march. I know it doesn’t sound like much but let me tell you, it was a big, big deal!

I had never heard of this particular march, but I just chalked it up to my lack of experience and being new to the military. But in reality, most people here in KFOR 12 had never heard of it either until just a couple of weeks ago. Apparently, this march has existed for years and they even give you a medal and certificate for completing the event. Dancon is an abbreviation for "Danish Contingent", but an abbreviation that is used almost exclusively over the real name. Dancon is the term that comprises all Danish national forces in a current military mission of the UN orNATO. In short, Dancon is not a military unit per se, like what we would know as a brigade, but rather an organization in which all military units currently working in a mission are linked together. Because several Dancons can exist at the same time, the mission name is usually added to Dancon, like Dancon/Kosovo or Dancon/Iraq.

Now let us not forget that we have only been here in Kosovo for a few weeks and so when they said the length of the march was 15 miles, I about pooped myself. I am not in shape to do something of that magnitude so early into my physical training regimen. But when they told me this would be the very last one held in Kosovo I just had to jump at the chance to be a part of history. So I eagerly paid my 20 euro participation fee and waited in excitement like everybody else. It really was the talk of Camp Bondsteel. Work schedules were adjusted, new boots were purchased, and a hype that might have been classified as false motivation, because mostly soldiers knew deep down inside that this may be an exciting adventure but that surely their feet were going to be in tough shape after fifteen miles. Oh well, now we all would have a grand story to tell when we returned home.

Finally the day arrived. Buses were lined up…Oh, did I mention it was 2:45 in the morning when we had to report to the buses? Ya, that’s the army for you. I’m not sure I’m really into this getting up at the crack of dawn thing yet. Who in the world takes a shower just after midnight? Well apparently I wasn’t the only silly one. There were a little over 200 American Soldiers who decided to do the famous Dancon march! We all had our backpacks stuffed with a minimum of 22 pounds (part of the rules), had to carry our kevlars and flak jackets with us and of course had to march with our assigned weapons and proper military uniforms. So we loaded the vehicles and set off on the nearly three hour drive to the starting point.

Part of me just wanted to sleep during the trip, but that was nixed when most everybody around me chatted incessantly and seemed to have all the energy in the world. Suppose it would be classified as excitement to begin a small journey that nobody had ever had the opportunity to do before and the relief that this day had finally come and they could test their mettle. I was just super excited that Davina had let me go out with my
Children would watch us march by themChildren would watch us march by themChildren would watch us march by them

Photo courtesy OPLAW Planner
friends and experience an adventure on my own terms.

We finally arrived and the buses stopped at an area that was a small walk to the camp. It was pretty eerie if you ask me. It was so dark I could barely see my hand in front of my face; thank goodness I was surrounded by all my friends. It was one of those times as we walked up to the staging area that I was happy to be living at Camp Bondsteel. Some of their buildings looked like warehouses converted into housing areas, with rusty walls that were extremely weathered. We definitely have it made with our barracks buildings and very tolerable support complexes.

Of course, we were earlier than needed but wasting no time we did one of the army’s favorite drills. Everybody line up in alphabetical order. Ugh…It always sounds easier than it really is, but we go through the motions and obediently line up in the proper order. Only to have the joke be on us. Wouldn’t you figure that all the papers the Danish passed out to us were in alphabetical order, by our FIRST names. Tee Hee!

As the start of the march was drawing closer, the other participating countries began showing up. Italy, Germany, Austria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Portuguese, Switzerland, Poland, Slovenia , Ukrain , Hungary, France, Slovakia, Belgium, Ireland, and Greece, just to name a few. It was splendid to see all the different uniforms and listen to the many languages being spoken. I was ready, I had my back pack, it was loaded and I was standing by.

I would say that there were about 1200 of us all milling about the starting line. They explained that the route was organized according to the geographic locations of the terrain in the shape of a ring - start and finish was located at the Danish Camp Olaf Rye. The total length of the route was 25.2 km. On our itinerary, there would be four route points where we could get water and food, and, if necessary - medical first aid as well. The second part of the route was the most difficult since it was located in the hilly terrain. Oh my, this could prove to be more challenging than expected.

As the starting bell rang, it was like a giant chain reaction or more like a slinky affect for the first few minutes. At the sound of start everybody wanted to move, but in fact only the first few rows blasted out, and then each echelon followed in suit until the last person was moving. I really had a hard time seeing, since I was so short, but I could hear the murmurs in the crowd that some of the soldiers had taken off on a dead run. Well good luck to them, I am going to pace myself so I can be guaranteed that I finished within the eight hours that was established as the official time limit.

This was crazy. Hundreds of people all heading in the same direction. Some were running and going for the Dancon time record, others were walking faster than I could keep up and some were just dawdling and bound and determined to use their complete eight hours. I couldn’t quite find my pace right away but then I linked up with the girls from admin. They seemed to be having a great time. Laughing and talking as they walked and being friendly to those around them. In fact they were playing this fun little game with the boys from aviation. The two groups were taking turns passing each other and then challenging them to pass again. I think it was really just to help make the time pass, and didn’t allow anybody to focus on each individual step that seemed to be getting harder and harder.

The first few miles were pretty good, all on the roadway and pretty flat. But then it all changed. We turned off the road and started to follow this trail and it began to get hilly and within a few minutes I started to struggle with keeping up. Well thank goodness for friends, because my warrant officer friend scooped me up and placed me into the back of her rucksack. This was such a relief and now I could really take in the sights as we walked along. As the road narrowed and turned to dirt I had a wonderful view of the farmland and could smell the dirt we were so close. The trees had wintered up and just the brown leaves were hanging on until a strong wind blows. There was cattle everywhere and they even looked fairly healthy.

Each mile became more difficult, the crowds were thinning out and the people who were going for the gold had most definitely left the rest of us standing in the dust. But the soldiers I was hanging out with were feeling pretty good. My buddy started to jog just to make up some time and that’s when things got a little discombobulated. The cover on her pack was not securely tied down so with each jumbled movement little things started falling out. First her socks, then one of her extra t-shirts, I tried to call out to her but she was breathing so hard she couldn’t hear anything. Then the unthinkable. I fell out of the pack! Tumbling to the ground I felt a little sting as I flipped around when a couple of people kicked me with their feet. It all happened so fast that I’m sure nobody saw me actually fall out. Her pack was definitely lighter when she got done with her little jog, but as she stopped and looked behind her shock was written all over her face when she saw the trail of her belongings strewn along the trail.

In no time we were back on the trail, this time I was
Even the local cows got involvedEven the local cows got involvedEven the local cows got involved

Photo courtesy Deputy G1
strapped onto the side of her pack, absolutely no way I would get left behind this time! I was just thrilled to be along for this expedition across the land of Kosovo. We would be walking and next thing we knew there would be some local folks walking beside us. Then the kids would run up and try to engage in conversation, but mostly I think they really just wanted pieces and things off our uniforms. Especially our patches and the pens and pencils. For most of us it was great to have our first contact with the children, and I sure hope there will be many more opportunities in the months to come.

Up and down the elevation of the road went, and then around the bends and into the long stretches. We walked into small villages were the churches were just so beautiful that you just wanted to stop and take pictures. The people were so nice as we would pass through their area and the waves seemed to be so sincere. I really think I am going to like this deployement. Need to really try and get out to see all the local towns.

As
Just hangin with my finance friendJust hangin with my finance friendJust hangin with my finance friend

Photo courtesy Deputy G1
the day dragged on, we got to about the 18 mile mark and something really started to hurt in everybody’s boots. It was the blisters, they had formed in the last 10 miles and now were beginning to break. Each step became more difficult than the last. Energy levels were starting to lag, thirst was setting in and then constant thought of quitting encompassed most of my spare thoughts. But as the steps ticked by and the moments turned into hours, next thing we all knew…it was over. Everybody had finished the mighty Dancon march! Over 22 miles across the beautiful countryside. Not only did we all finish but we all finished under the eight hour time limit. What a great accomplishment! But the crazy part was, the winner completed the dang thing in two hours and one minute. Yup, you heard right. 2 hours and 1 minute! A new record for the Kosovo Dancon!

As everybody was receiving their certificate of completion and Dancon medals I was just so tickled to be hanging out with such cool people. This army stuff just whips people right into shape and to think, here I was standing in the midst of
They walked with us and beside usThey walked with us and beside usThey walked with us and beside us

Photo courtsy OPLAW Planner
physical greatness. Actually, 6 out of the top 11 were from Portugal. Wow, now that’s a workout program! All of a sudden out of nowhere, “Doooobie…Come and get your medal.” Yippee, I get a Dancon medal! Something that I can always keep in my very special military possessions.

This will be something we can all talk about for days to come. Not to mention the blisters on our feet. These too will pass with many a band aid and tender walking. But always etched in my memory will be the sights of the beautiful pastures, the always present smell of burning rubbish and the wonderful sounds of children laughing.



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Walking into the townsWalking into the towns
Walking into the towns

Photo courtesy OPLAW Planner
Soldiers were strung out for milesSoldiers were strung out for miles
Soldiers were strung out for miles

Photo courtesy OPLAW Planner
Even the children walked with us!Even the children walked with us!
Even the children walked with us!

Photo courtesy OPLAW Planner
The terrain challenged us allThe terrain challenged us all
The terrain challenged us all

Photo courtesy OPLAW Planner
So many countries involvedSo many countries involved
So many countries involved

Photo courtesy OPLAW Planner


Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0712s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb