Dobie arrives at Camp Bondsteel


Advertisement
Europe » Kosovo » East
November 7th 2009
Published: November 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I can't believe I am actually here in Kosovo! I've been waiting for this for months and now I am "really" on deployment. It's a long way away from home but I have a hunch this will be an okay trip. After I flew in on that nifty helicopter, Davina gave me a quick rundown of what the facilities are like. She said I will not need for much to survive here. Of course, Davina is lost most of the time so I will have to take my own tour of the camp and then I will be able to describe what everything looks like.

I was told that Camp Bondsteel has a plethora of facilities that are utilized by both soldiers and the hundreds of civilian employees who live and work here. She said the post exchange (PX) is the largest military exchange in south eastern Europe and pretty much contains all the necessities and more that I would need while in Kosovo. They even have TVs, phones, books, DVDs, CDs, small furniture, video games, computers, clothes, shoes, food, and tons more. The building has two floors and takes american cash and euro's, so my options are endless.

The base also has, arguably, the best hospital in Kosovo; a movie theater that has nearly 500 seats; three gyms (I doubt if Davina can show me where these are!), two recreation buildings that have phones, computers with internet connection, pool tables, and video games; only one of the two chapels is open with various religious services and other activities.

There are two large dining facilities and a sandwhich bar that is open 24 hours a day. She's pretty excited about never having to miss a meal. Which could be bad because of that whole not knowing where the gym is thing! We have an education center where classes are offered through the Maryland University College and Central Texas College, so people can work on their degrees while stationed here. If people need more food or better coffee than the messhall offers we even have a couple of cappuccino bars, a Burger King, Taco Bell, and an Anthony's Pizza pizzeria. I can even get my hair cut at one of the two barber shops.

The greatest thing is that there is two laundry facilities, which means that I won't have to wash my on dirty grundy's for another nine months. Yea! I'm thinking that the two massage shops are going to come in handy! There are even a couple of local vendors who sell Kosovo souvenirs and products (which she says she hasn't quite figured out what a "Kosovo souvenir" is yet).

So as you see I have alot of exploring to do. Lots of people to meet! and many adventures to go on!

Welcome to Bonsteel...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 4; ; mem: 1mb