Asolo and Crespano


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Paderno del Grappa
January 31st 2011
Published: January 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

So today was the third week of classes but officially the 4th class day for my A block classes. I handed in my first paper today and my first midterm is already next monday, so that will take up most of my week. The past week has been very nice and relaxing. Friday I went to Asolo with my LIFE group and we got to tour the ancient Roman fortress town and the CIMBA graduate school. Asolo is a town that rises on a hill and on top of that hill is the old Roman fortress. The CIMBA graduate program is just below the fortress but pretty much as high as possible in the town. Any where in this town you can see the surrounding valley filled with lights and mountains. It is absolutely spectacular. There is not a property in this town that is worth less than one million US dollars. If any one would be passing through the Veneto region, this town is a must see. We got dropped off on a bus and started walking up a hill and down extremely narrow roads, the typical European old town narrow look. After climbing and meandering through the outskirts of the downtown area we came upon the town square, which had a fountain with a lion on it at the center and cafes and Bars (Italian Wine spots) surrounding it. We stopped several times to experience the view and take in the spectacular city. We then moved on to the CIMBA graduate school. It is located in a single building that used to be a precinct. The inside is decorated with the largest private art collection in the Venice area, by none other than the Professor/founder of CIMBA himself, Al Ringleb. I have begun calling him the most interesting man in the world. He founded the graduate school and undergraduate school, he fits the definition of a genious, but with amazing people skills. He once owned a winery in Italy but sold it for just over 5 million Euros. He is a great person to know. The graduate program is a 1 year full-time or 2 year part time program, but also offer a program to local Italians who may have inherited the family business but have no business experience or education. These people don't get a diploma but is more of a philanthropical program to give back to the great Veneto region. Students in the graduate school take 1 class for 2 weeks, take a final and move on to the next class. It is a Business-Leadership based program, and very competitive. The views from this building was spectacular. This town was a diamond in the rough. I suggest to all readers to google image Asolo, Italy, and Asolo, Italy night view to get a slight glimpse of what I am trying to describe, hopefully that will help. Here is a picture of the view of the valley:


Saturday my life group went through a low ropes course developing teamwork and trust. Nothing too exciting but it was pretty entertaining. Sunday morning I went to the Crespano market. Crespano is about a mile away from Paderno and it is a bigger town the Paderno. This market took up the entire town. If I had to put a number on it I would say there were at least 500 venders with everything from 10 Euro Jeans, to 12.50 Euro coats, pets, watches, shoes, meat including octopus, fish, fruit, and many other obvious things that you would find that I can't remember. The entire area comes to this event and I think it is the Italian way of socializing after Church. They just walk around and buy a couple things here and there and gossip. It is their entertainment for the week because this area is more rural. I found it interesting and didn't buy anything except for the cappuccino I drank in the cafe after the market ended. The rest of the day I spent catching up on homework and finishing a paper.

This weekend, also know as Super bowl weekend is going to be my first travel weekend. I have been waiting for this weekend for 3 weeks now and am extremely excited. Friday I plan to go with a group of about 15 to Verona and spend 1 night and a morning and afternoon there enjoying the old Roman ruins. Saturday night we will hop on a train and head to Milan. We will spend the night there in a hostel and then check out the city sunday morning. Sunday night at 8:30 myself and about 50 other CIMBA students will be attending the Inter Milan v. acRoma game, which is a "HUGE GAME" according to our doorkeeper. We have excellent tickets whom the doorkeeper, Alberto got for us. He has a number of travel contacts who hooked us up. They are located on the second deck at midfield on the Milan side, so unreal seats for a group of 50. I spent 100 euro to get the tickets and a bus ride home, which is an excellent deal. Apparently the games are extremely rowdy and exciting. I will have to buy an Inter Milan scarf to fit in with the die hards. The bus will unfortunately not get back to Paderno till 3Am so I will miss the first 2.5 hours of the Super Bowl. I am in Italy and my attitude towards this is hey, if the Packers were to win I will replay this game a hundred times or if they lose I won't ever want to watch what I missed. Plus I am in Italy, when will I be able to see a huge Italian futbol match again? So yes the packers will be in my mind the entire bus ride home, but hopefully when I get home I will see that there is a close game on hand or a cheese head blowout.

A few last words on Italian culture, I am growing into this new culture of taking the 1-3PM naps that all the locals enjoy. The stores here are closed between 1-3 everyday for their daily nap break, which is weird but pleasantly peaceful. The town shuts down and everything is quiet, which adds to the relaxation. I am also getting used to the food. I no longer dread the pasta con red sauce haha but I have noticed the amount of carbs I eat over here is an extreme amount. This includes the pasta, all the bread, and more bread. So I have been hitting the gym more often. All in all I have a busy and exciting week ahead.

To answer a few questions from comments that I thoroughly enjoy, the mountains that I see are the Dolomites and the weather here is around the 40 degrees Fahrenheit range which is chilly but better than what I hear all of you are experiencing back home. The students that I am with are mainly from the US. Schools like Kansas, West Virginia, Clemson, UConn, Iowa, Iowa State, Alabama and even some from Oregon and San Diego State. The other students are all very similar to myself and I get along with them very well. I am really enjoying my time here.

I got the news of Aunt June passing away last week. She and everyone back home are in my thoughts and prayers. She was a special lady and I am blessed to have had a Great Aunt with such a warm heart and passionate personality.

Advertisement



1st February 2011

Verona
Sounds like you're having a great time, Sean. We are so proud of you. Thanks for your beautiful tribute to Aunt June. She was indeed a "special lady". Hey, when we were in Verona with Uncle Peter and Aunt Jane we went to Juliet's house (Romeo and Juliet). Keep your hands off the statue!!!!! :):):):) You'll understand when (and if) you see it!!!! Love you. aunt Jan
1st February 2011

Re 1-31-11
Today is snowy and the beginning of a 2 day blizzard. Went to Aunt June's wake but not the funeral today. It was well attended and the family was all there. Love your blogs, can picture where you are and how it feels in the area. It is so beautiful there. Enjoy your time and enjoy your game next weekend. You are right about the Super Bowl. You can always see it when you come home. Love, Grandma
3rd February 2011

thanks...
thanks for remembering mom/June - we're so glad you are having a fantastic experience in Italy!
3rd February 2011

So glad to hear you are doing well
Hi Sean, Thanks for these wonderful descriptions!! I am so glad you are going to a futbol game - how fun. This is going to show how ignorant I am, but is that soccer or rugby? I get mixed up about what they call football over there. I got a kick out of your description of the ropes course as "entertaining." I am trying to imagine what led to that particular choice of adjective. Asolo is a brand name of shoes. Do they produce shoes there? I see them on Sierratradingpost.com. I know how much fun you must be having. And you are right - the superbowl pales in comparison to all you are experiencing. Thanks for answering some of my questions. I was snowed in from Tuesday night 2/1 until this morning, 2/3. The drifts were at least 4 - 5 feet in the driveway, and they had to send an end loader to open it up. The county road also was only one lane in lots of places this morning, with drifts up to the windows of the Expedition. Luckily, all the animals and I are doing great, despite the bitter cold and snow. The donkeys have had it easiest, being snug in their stall throughout, while the horses, with blankets on, were outside during the day, and tucked into stalls at night. Last night, PJ figured out how to open his outside stall door, and let himself out sometime during the night. Silly horse. Have been busy with work lately, but the respite provided by the storm was great. Our office was closed yesterday, so did not have to feel guilty about being home - not that I could go anywhere anyway. You have a great time this weekend, and enjoy your travels. Thanks again for taking the time to keep us filled in on your experiences. Love, Aunt Jo
7th February 2011

We have been keeping up with your adventures. Thanks for mentioning my mom! We miss her and know from your mom that you have been thinking of us!:) Keep having a great time. Ashley is jealous of you going to a soccer game.

Tot: 0.249s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb