A Very Rough Start


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Mestre
August 19th 2011
Published: August 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Have you ever heard of the saying if something is going to go wrong it will. That is a true statement when it comes to me. It never fails that something is going to happen. I knew it was going to hit but I just didn’t know when until today when I went to go pickup the rental car from National. I had reserved a car weeks in advance and was ready to pay for it when the agent asked for the credit card. I told her that the card was used to reserve the car and it should be in the system. Well guess what it wasn’t. The card I had used was my mom’s and of course I didn’t have it with me. So I flipped out my debit/credit card which I always use and of course National does not accept debit/credit cards. OK I thought, who would refuse cash, well I had found out that National does. So I wasn’t able to rent a car from National and all the other local car rental spots were the same. So here I am trying to figure out how to get to Bend. By now you are wondering why I drive my truck down. That would be a great idea; however, I hold my breath every time I start my truck and drive to school. So I didn’t want to take the chance of it breaking down on me. So it left me with one last option and that is to find someone willing to drive me down to Bend. My very best friend Shoshana stepped up and drove me to Bend. Finally, I was off and started my trip to Italy.

Well after four hours in the car we finally arrived in Bend; however, my mom and I were still going to need a rental car. Yahoo, I was able to rent a car from Budget. After picking up the car, connecting with my mom, having dinner with my sister, Steve, Shoshana, Carl, and my mom we were off to Portland which was latter than I wanted to. We left at nine. So of course I drove keeping one eye on the road and the other out for deer. But what I should have been looking out for was the skunk. I ran him over, which caused the car to stink. I would have stopped but there was something about the 18 wheeler behind me that made me keep on a rolling.

We reached the Portland area using the GPS system in my phone which I was pretty proud of myself to figure out how to use it; however, I did learn one little important thing that was to make sure the phone is fully charged if you are going to rely on the GPS. Thank God, mom had the same phone. I was able to quickly setup the GPS on her phone and we were able to find the hotel.

I hope tomorrow will be free from the many possibilities in which can go wrong. But knowing me I will be processed in triplicate while going throw the security check point.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb