There's snow place like home...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Belluno
February 12th 2013
Published: February 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from cabin fever central,

I am home alone (as the family are in the Maldives this week), going stir crazy because I'm actually snowed in. I can't even manage the ten minute walk to the front gate, as the snow is currently upto my knees!! We were supposed to be going to Venice Carnival today, but had to cancel that aswell. So safe to say this week I am officially fed-up with this country and it's erratic weather!

The family left in search of sun (leaving me here in the Artic) on Saturday morning. Had a good day/night out after they left. Kasia and I went into the centre to do some shopping and then back to mine for supper. I made gnocchi con ragu (potato dumplings in a bolognese sauce), which luckily didn't kill her. Then we went to the birreria in Pedavena to meet her boyfriend's sister, Valentina and her work colleagues. OMG! Never in my life have I seen so many beautiful Italian men in one place. They seemed to be fascinated by me and were all fighting to talk to me (much to my delight). One even said to me: "I've never spoken to a real English, person before!" Haha!

There was an awesome rock band playing there, singing all the classics from Queen to Red Hot Chilli Peppers to Nirvana. After they stopped playing at half 1 we went to another bar and eventually got back home at 3.15am. Haven't stayed out that late in a long time and had so much fun. Everyone tried to speak English with us and it was nice they made the effort to include us. Still speaking to one of the boys now on Facebook, he seems really sweet but I'm leaving in a few weeks so really don't see any point in starting something now (although he is very keen to come to England, so who knows)!

In other news I'm still struggling away sewing my patchwork blanket together, although it's over half-way now (yay)! Looking forward to spending this weekend in Florence with my mum. Even if I have to swim there it's happening, I've already spent 90 euros on my return train ticket!




Anyway more after my trip away this weekend.




Stay warm,




Soph




XxX




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.269s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0701s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb