Tasty Treats


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Belluno
February 1st 2013
Published: February 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hello all,

This week you're in for a treat with not 1, but 2 (yes 2) posts! This week has been, let's just say, very eventful! Now as you'll remember from last week's post (which of course you've all been reading), La Nonna died. So this week was kicked off with the funeral. I've never seen a church so full in my life, it was literally packed, people had to stand because they had run out of chairs! It was particularly amusing (if it's acceptable to say that about a funeral), because everyone was wearing coats from the family's factory, so when we did the walk behind the coffin from the church to the graveyard it looked like a massive fashion show.

On Wednesday night it was the grandpa's Birthday, so we had 18 people over for dinner (and no prizes for guessing which mug got stuck with the washing up), so I had my first lesson making Titamisu. If you want to learn how to make it the recipe will be published straight after this post, including step-by-step photos of what it should look like. I must say I was surprised at how easy it was to make and tastes awesome!

I've literally just got back from a weekend away in the mountains, it's only an hours drive in the car so not too bad. The mum does actually have a house there, but because they're renovating it, we stayed in a hotel for one night. This is all well and good except for when you have to share your hotel room with two kids and a dog, who has the shits!! (I feel so sorry for the woman who has to clean the rooms!)

I spent a lot of time on my own walking round the centre, whilst the rest of the family went skiing and snowboarding. It was SO cold there and to make matters worse I lost my gloves on the first day, so pretty sure I have frost bite now. Also I've never had this much pain in my thighs before. I can only guess it's from walking up and down the hills in the snow, in the middle of a blizzard (I kid you not), nearly fell over about 300 times!

Anyway I'm glad to be back now. The family all off to the Maldives next Saturday, so looking forward to a rest and then the weekend after that I'm meeting my mum in Florence. Other then that I've just been looking for a new job, so I'm ready to return in March.


Anyway enough for this week, enjoy the recipe!


Soph


XxX




Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.356s; Tpl: 0.034s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0689s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb