Pizza and Pasta


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Umbria » Perugia
January 26th 2012
Published: January 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So I Skyped with my sister, Maria, last night for over an hour and it made me miss her so much! I thought it was pretty funny when she told me she read this blog and noticed that the only foods I’ve talked about eating are pizza and pasta.

Hi Maria, if you’re reading this! You are 100% correct. Basically the only things I have eaten here ARE pizza, pasta, risotto and gelato. Italian staples, yes, but I’m beginning to wonder if I’ll ever eat anything else here! Like are we passing some secret restaurant every day that we don't know about??

Yesterday was our friend Alex’s birthday. He’s another friend from Bonaventure. We were at a friend’s house 2 nights ago so we could celebrate at midnight with him. After, we went to 2 bars for drinks and dancing! Thank God I only had one class at 10 yesterday so I could sleep most of the day.

Last night we went out to celebrate with Alex again, but this time just for dinner. People from 3 different apartments came making it 12 of us all together. We went to a restaurant a pretty quick walk from our own apartment. It’s called Dal Mi’ Cocco. My roommates and I have been there before, but I couldn’t find if I’ve posted something about it earlier on here, so sorry if I repeat myself. The restaurant has a great concept, pay 13E and get about 4 or 5 courses. The menu is set price, but is different every day. We were first served 2 (you guessed it) pasta dishes. One was more of a thicker, flat spaghetti noodle and the other was short and almost twist-y, you could say. Both were in a red sauce and both were delicious. After we were served bread, then a plate of potatoes and slices of pork, then a dessert that had some sort of espresso soaked layer cake with custard.

Somehow, though, even after eating all that, we still came home and sat around the kitchen table eating Nutella on bread. How typical of us. Today we all had an Italian quiz. It was all vocab so not that bad. I also gave a presentation in my Business in Europe class about IKEA business styles in different countries. After class we ran around trying to find a place for lunch. And by lunch I mean it was around 4pm. Abby got a chicken sandwich she hated, Carrie went somewhere else for another chicken sandwich that was a tiny bit better, and I got a lackluster kabob. My other 2 classes for the day are cancelled so I’m writing this blog!

Tonight I’m not sure what’s on the schedule besides trying to make dinner: Baked ziti. More pasta, of course.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb