Saturday April 21st


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany
April 25th 2012
Published: April 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Saturday April 21st was a day full of pain; the leisurely hike I was expecting was not what I got. It began with a pleasant public bus ride to a Tuscany town called St. Brigida, which took about an hour. After exciting the bus we start down a small side street and are told we are going to the sanctuary called Madonna of the Rock, it has nothing to do with the painting of the same name. From where we are standing we can see the church building up about halfway on the hill. Okay, I think that is doable. Then he says it should take us about half an hour to get there, alright, more difficult but I should be okay. We continue to walk along and we come across a cross and plaque on the side of the path we are about to branch off on. It tells a story of the women who journeyed along this path and saw images of the Virgin. There are four of these plaques along the walk to the sanctuary, each representing a different vision of the Virgin. This walk is called a cross because it is supposed to remind you of Jesus’s
Beauty Queen poseBeauty Queen poseBeauty Queen pose

And a good stretch!
suffering on the cross, our guide Todd also jokes that it is also because you have to suffer to get to the sanctuary. Oh great, I’m getting worried about my ability to make it now. We begin to ascend the hill at a steep incline. I begin this part of the hike at the very front of the group; it is the guide, Rebecca, Michelle, and me. First hill, I’m doing okay, breathing a little heavy but keeping up. We hit the switch back, still a steep incline, Rebecca and Todd are pulling away, Michelle and I are still in pace with each other. Ten min into the estimated 30 and I need to step to the side for a drink of water, really just an excuse to pause and catch my breath. At this point I’m passed by a few people, and Michelle has continued on without me. Twenty min in, incline just as steep as before, people are now passing me while I’m walking and I need another break. By this point I’m in the back with Jed and Phillipa, they are both AIFS supervisors for this excursion and are supposed to be last so we don’t lose anyone on the trail. While they are waiting for me to catch my breath they are kind enough to look like they don’t mind by taking pictures of the view and discussing the weather. We did get very lucky and the sun broke through right before we got off the bus. Especially considering that it was supposed to be pouring rain all day, we even drove through a downpour on our way out to the town. At this point I don’t even see the people in front of me I’m far enough behind. I’m sure the guide is giving all sorts of useful and interesting information that I am way too far away to hear. I think I took one more stop before reaching the sanctuary, which is very picturesque has a little courtyard with grass and the little white daisy flowers the grow wild like weeds. We stop here for some refreshment, which everyone brought for themselves. I had orange juice, a banana, and a muffin. The breeze was refreshing and the sun was shining, we were all rewarded with a stunning view of a classic Tuscan hillside. I’m quite proud of myself and even though I was last, I wasn’t terrible far behind. Although, a few people made comments about Jed being the last one to arrive since he is usually the leader and the first to arrive everywhere. I think these were the same people who passed me on my long slow climb up mount Vesuvius and were now thinking, “what is she doing coming on a hike?!” To which my response is I didn’t realize it would be nearly vertical! At this point I’m still happy I came and love the fresh clean air that just isn’t found in Florence, even after the rain, plus the crisp breeze cooling after the physical exertion of the hike. Wind in my hair, sun on my face, and clean air in my lungs. I’m happy to sit here and watch the clouds move across the sky, but that is not the plan.

After about 45min of enjoying this scene Todd rounds us up for the next part of our hike. Alright, I’m feeling pretty good, I made it this far we must just be walking around here before heading back down to catch our bus back; I’m sure the worst is behind me. I’m wrong! So wrong that in the coming hours there are moments I just want to sit down and cry. Todd leads us back behind the church and there are two paths, one flat, one not. So of course he takes the not flat one, but it isn’t as bad as the previous incline, very slight. We have to walk single file; I’m back at the front of the group and doing well. I was right before when I guessed he was the type to give out all sorts of useful information as he walks. He is talking about the different types of trees, plants and wildlife. He stops for a moment in an open area and waits for the group to gather. He bends down and picks a plant from the ground, something he has told us not to do, and informs us it is a wild garlic plant. How cool! We all take a turn sniffing it to confirm what he has just told us, he then tells of all the different things that local come out and pick to eat. Wild lettuces, the garlic, and the different types of berries you can find in the summer. Moving on I’m still at the front and thinking, this isn’t too bad I can handle this incline, it is slight and not to taxing.

Then we turn a corner. It is worse than before, steeper, not paved, and muddy. It is at this point I start to wonder if I should just turn around and wait for them at the bottom. I make an only slightly joking comment about waiting at the bottom and find out to my horror that doing so is not an option because we are not going back the same way! I work my way to the back of the group again; now my breaks are getting longer because the climb is more difficult than before. It is now just Jed waiting with me and he is amusing himself by wondering off while he waits for me to catch my breath. He is very kind and tells me not to worry about it, take my time, etc. It still doesn’t help that I feel horrible for holding up the group, and slightly humiliated. I’m so out of my fitness level I can’t even pretend I’m only stopping to get a drink of water or take a picture of the view. Nope, it is solely just because I can’t breathe and my legs ache so bad I’m sure I’m going to die up on that hill. The terrain is beautiful and being at the back provided me with the nature sounds I love to listen to when I go hiking, if it could even be called that after this experience, back at home. Being in the front although I got the benefit of the guide’s wisdom I also got the running commentary from everyone else on the hike. During one of the hills I recall doing a mental checklist on how long I could last out there alone because there is no way I was going to be able to make it back. Why didn’t I buy and pack one of those safety blankets that are supposed to keep you warm when stranded in nature?! Also how am I going to convince them to leave me behind because there is no way I can make it and I’ve come to peace with it.

The total hike was 5 miles, half uphill and the other half with a just as tricky and embarrassing downhill. It wasn’t that I couldn’t keep up; the problem was I rolled my ankle twice and fell once. Yup so now I’m covered in mud. There was no way to hide it. It was not my favorite day in Italy. I did get some great pictures though. I also got to see a couple little rock hut type things where people used to churn and store butter. I also found out that our guide does that route regularly, and on a bike, I’ve decided he is insane. He also happens to be the guy who had the group doing shots of olive oil with bread as a chaser. I should know better by now, but I’m looking into doing a red wine tasting and vineyard tour through him. Maybe it is me that should have my head examined. I’m sure you all expect a I’m proud of myself, and I’m glad I went, but I’m not. It was cruel and unusual punishment, I’m trying to use this day of torture as a reason to get a discount on the red wine excursion. He laughed when I mentioned it, but he also said he would take it under consideration.

The way the hike sounded when I registered for it seemed like a nice leisurely walk/hike through the Tuscan countryside. During the hike I found out it was the first time anyone from AIFS had done this trail, now that they have done it I think they should rewrite the brochure. It should say something like, 2.5 miles of steep uphill climb, then 2.5 miles of just as steep decline. At least two people feel last trip but no major lasting injuries on record. We also recommend scheduling nothing for the following day to nurse any wounds and all sore muscles.

Advertisement



26th April 2012

April 21 Hike
You did it! You'll be skinny as a rail if that keeps up. I'm so proud you made it. Just don't push it too far now that you'll be 40! Love you!
8th May 2012

A quick 10years
Wow, Grandma I'm only 30 now.
26th April 2012

Nice place.
I thoroughly enjoy reading about your adventures and hearing your unguarded thoughts on places, its refreshing! Another place to add to the travel list!!!

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb