Under the Tuscan Sun


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany
March 1st 2009
Published: March 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

WineryWineryWinery

What a beautiful door.
In Tuscany, looking out over the Mediterranean Sea there is a small vineyard that is owned and operated by a wonderful family. We were lucky enough to be invited on a trip to have cooking lessons of traditional Italian food. The owner himself does not speak English, but we had a translator that was lots of fun. We walked through his vineyards picking herbs and grapes for our meal to come. Then we headed to his distillery (which happened to be in I suppose the basement of his house). Not only did he bottle his own wine, he also grows numerous different types of grapes to see what new types of wines he can produce. We then headed to the kitchen to start our lessons. Of anything I have ever done in my travels this was definitely my favorite. Any of my friends will tell you that I am a horrible cook, but on this day I was able to make focaccia, pasta, and rice pudding without a hitch. It all tasted lovely. And who could beat looking out over that beautiful blue sea while doing it all. If anyone is interested in the name of this place I am sure I could dig up the email address or phone number.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 47; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb