I am in love


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Siena
May 8th 2012
Published: June 17th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 43.3187, 11.3305

I arrived in Siena on Tuesday via three trains. I am an expert at this now. Oh except for the conman at the Pisa station. He was hanging around the shop and told me it was compulsory for me to pay him government tax on my ticket. I had heard about these guys scaring tourists into handing over money. I pretended I didn't understand English or Italian. He went away.

Sorted myself out on the map and took to the streets. Siena has the largest piazza I have seen, Piazza del Campo. It is fantastic. It slopes like a sink on its side and everyone lays around in the sun for hours all gazing in one direction toward the Palazzo Comunale. I was tempted to sit at that area and face the opposite direction for a few hours to see what looks I got.

Also has a Duomo (cathedral) which is probably the best I've see also. Of course there are many other churches to see as well.

I visited the Museo della Tortura (yes Museum of Torture). That was fascinating and gruesome. Displaying instruments of torture used by the priests during the Inquisition. Was quite sickening but soooo interesting. Bizarre. Some of the instruments are still being used today.

I'm staying at another great B&B, Le Camere di Livia. The most modern I've stayed at. Nice and light with lots of opening windows. Also perfectly quiet which is very nice for a few nights. The landlady only speaks Italian so we have conversations - she speaks then says ok? I always say Si. She then says "ok bye bye". No idea what is going on.

Food is great, spritz is great, Siena is great and I love it. The best city so far, by far.

9 May

Up early for typical Italian B&B breakfast. Dry cold toast things out of a packet with honey. This morning some cheese and salami. And a cappuccino. It is better than the pastries they seem to all eat for breakfast as well.

The weather is beautiful - about 23 degrees and warming up to 29 by the weekend.

Lonely Planet mentioned a weekly market in Siena so found that this morning. I spent 3 hours there. It was wonderful. Clothes, shoes, plants, flowers, animals and food. Finally did some shopping for myself and mum you got more as well. Dad I bought some turtles and Hayley a chipmunk.

Managed to fit in a siesta this afternoon before heading back out for strolling, drinking and eating. Sitting in the piazza can fill in hours of watching people and their dogs.

Advertisement



9th May 2012

wish you were here too
10th May 2012

Hi there, Buon giorno! come sta? glad you are having a lovely time have finally been able to open the package our i.t. connection is much left to be desired -damn telstra!! You are practically in the area where my dad grew up in the piedmo
nte area, Lucca was where one of aunts lived in St. Anna, and dad's childhood town was only 1hr train ride north, glad you are careful with those pesky conmen and also conladies they'll be all sorts out there for sure. I wish I was there. Drew has been hinting that he may have to take a business trip to Norway so I'm pushing for us to go with him with an extended holiday to visit relatives and also see his bro in London. We have no confirmation yet but I should pull my finger out and get our passports sorted at least. Looking forward to that if it eventuates. Anyway have you tried the campari - sooo disgusting... when you eat anything there, go one for me, one for jo!Take care enjoy the rest of your holidays looking forward to catching you and see the snaps! By the way since when does your dad has turtles and are they legal?? and Hayley's chipmunks - I didn't know w.a. had any??? or am I the fool hered???? lol..... ciao ciao tanti bacionni da me e' Heather. xxxxx
10th May 2012

oooops, should have read a bit more sloooooowly, re: turtles and chipmunks - oh boy.... it's the meds I tell ya!!! muahh... jxx
10th May 2012

they are adorable. Not sure what s the difference is between chipmonk and squirrel. Stripes?
11th May 2012

Blame it on the meds! Have a great to JoJo. Definitely push Drew on that Norway trip.
11th May 2012

Ches. I warned you about this. Get off the laptop and stay away from those kitty sites.
12th May 2012

oh, there is so much I could say about kittys tapping away on a laptop but I know you're mum would be reading this site and I may never be allowed in her house again!! luv jj xx

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb