Laundry day


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Siena
July 31st 2006
Published: July 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

On Saturday, I thought that I might sleep in a little because I had been out pretty late the night before....but Nonna Tina and the Swedish student woke me up earlier than I wanted because he was leaving (for good!) and he wanted to take a picture and say goodbye. Well, I guess getting rid of him wasn't really the worst reason to wake up....
At dinner on Friday, Nonna Tina got really excited and said she had a dessert surprise for us. She went into the kitchen and came back with a strawberry cake kind of thing and a large bottle of Limoncello (spelling?). She poured me a glass and gave me some cake, so I took a big sip and coughed like crazy. I think it tasted like nail polish remover (and, come to think of it, I forgot to pack nail polish remover, so I'm wondering if Limoncello might not also take off nail polish? I'll get back to everyone). Well, Mr. Sweden drank an incredible amount of the potent substance. Really, I don't think you've seen anything until you have seen an extremely bizzare Swedish man wearing the same lilac purple shirt he wears every day, knee high black socks, and Birkenstocks get entirely too drunk on Limoncello and trip and stumble around the apartment shouting random phrases in Italian. Truly an amazing spectacle.
At breakfast, I asked Nonna Tina where I should do laundry. I hadn't seen a laundry machine in her house, so I figured I would just wash my clothes in the tub, but I wanted to ask to make sure. Here is a rough translation of what her response sounded like to me: Here you can q5hfjhkkhhalfhd hfhjdh .... whites and darks...asdrve r54'5909ì'9'3tv kjò.............do you want? .-,àò,,.-,òà,òà,.,.-,-,ò.......... understand?,m a òklj 4q275e.......Now I'm going to get my hair done, but when I return we'll eat lunch and aeralh gjlkahru hfvjk h...........washing machine. Ciao Ciao, Elisabetta!!
I really wasn't entirely too sure what to make of it, but I figured I would see what happened with the washing machine after lunch, so I sorted my clothes into whites and darks and waited to find out. Sure enough, after lunch she showed me a part of the apartment I hadn't seen where there was a washing machine and asked me if I wanted to wash whites or darks first. She then proceeded to look at the way I had sorted my clothes and sort through them herself to make sure that I had done it right. At this point, her sister who lives downstairs had come up to chat for awhile. The thing is, I have a lot of underwear of questionable color category, as it is very patterned and multicolored. I suppose Nonna Tina did not really agree with my decisions, because she and her sister began to sift through and hold up each pair of underwear in all of its striped, flowered, and polka dotted glory from my diverse Hanes collection and decide together whether it would be best to wash it with the whites or the darks. It was really quite embarrassing.
Although I still get lost frequently, I am getting to know the city much better. Sometimes I still mess up the bus thing and end up getting off at random stops that I am completely unfamiliar with. I've learned directional words in Italian very well and have gotten very good at asking people for directions. Because I don't want anyone to take advantage of the fact that I am completely alone, lost, and unfamiliar with my surroundings, I always ask people for directions who are either very old or crippled so I know that I am safe (and, Ben, I've also learned to stay away from people in electric wheelchairs). Really, though, everyone is usually very helpful and friendly, especially because I think most find my confused smile and childlike use of the language kind of endearing.

List of shows that are entertaining to watch in Italian: Desperate Housewives, Bewitched, various Anime cartoons, Tweety Bird, and That's So Raven.
The most hilarious show to watch in Italian: definitely Pinky and the Brain

Thank you to everyone for all of your comments and words of encouragement--they are wonderful and very much appreciated!!

Advertisement



31st July 2006

Hello!
Hello, my dear! I just wanted to let you know how very much I have enjoyed reading your posts. I've decided that as soon as you get back from Italy you need to start looking for a job as a writer. Because I want to read stuff you write allll the time. It sounds like you are having a wonderful experience so far! I'm so impressed with all the things you're doing -- and I definitely admire your courage -- I couldn't do it! Continue to have a fabulous journey, best of luck with everything, and keep entertaining me with your wonderful posts!! Lots of love, Em
31st July 2006

hi
I think that I would have been embarrssed if they where going through my underware to. well can't wait to talk to you when you come back.
2nd August 2006

Keep smiling!
Elizabeth- Each time I read one of your entries something strikes me as so funny that I can't stop smiling. Today's chuckle came from the image of you getting directions from the old and infirm...great thinking, Elizabeth:) Enjoy every moment...Love, The Russells

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb