Etruscan-fu, the legend continues


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Siena
June 7th 2009
Published: June 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Poggio CivitatePoggio CivitatePoggio Civitate

My view for the summer.
I'm at T minus four days to blast off on yet another Etruscan adventure (now my seventh), but this time will be very, very different. And by different, I mean way more awesomer. Mom retired and I'm taking her to Italy on her first trip there so she can say hey to the Pope and see the funny things her crazy daughter likes to do, like dig large holes in the ground and write about broken pottery.

Our itinerary will begin with a few days to explore Rome, a quick jaunt to Assisi, another quick jaunt to Florence, then some quality time in Siena and Vescovado di Murlo where I will spend the next two months. I ship mom back to Seattle on the 19th, and then it's time for cleaning a nasty dig house, organizing inventory, and somehow teaching 30 college students how to dig up broken old things without breaking them any further.

The other interesting part of the summer involves me trying to see if my dissertation topic will work. This will require making contacts with Italian museums and figuring out how to convince them to let a silly American fondle 4th century BCE cinerary urns.
UrnUrnUrn

Looking to spend quality time with fellas like this.


Mom gets here Monday and we ship out Wednesday. Adventure is sure to follow!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb