Greetings from Siena!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Siena
January 13th 2006
Published: January 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Two days ago we arrived in Siena and let me say, it is beautiful! It is much different than Rome. There aren't many cars and I think there are only a few main roads. It is much more relaxed and what I expected Italy to be like. There are so many little shops which makes it so difficult to not want to shop. Especially when they say "SALDI!" all over! It just draws your attention inside.

Something very interested happened today at the market. I bought a can of pringles and a 1.5 liter of water (by the way, it was only around $0.25!!!) and the cashier asks if I wanted a bag. Obviously I did because my water was huge! So I said yes and she charged me for it! $0.04! I know that it cheap, but I thought it was so odd that they charge for bags! Also, another interesting aspect about the market is that the cashiers sit down and they don't hand you your change. They put the change down so you have to pick it up.

I forgot to mention this, but when I was in Rome a few days ago something very strange happened at lunch. Our waiter was in the middle of taking our order and his cellphone rang. He then proceeded to pick it up, leave our table to go outside to answer his personal phone call! I couldn't believe it! I was completely shocked!

Next stop: Venice! Ciao!!

Advertisement



13th January 2006

I remember in Germany, they also charged extra for a bag when you purchased something... it is logical though cause it does cost them money and it prob cuts back a lot on littering and trash! All in all that might be why American cities are so dirty and Europe is really clean! ;)
14th January 2006

differences
You are getting to see the differences in life in other countries...I guess you can appreciate the small things you take for granted here in the US. But I know you are getting a real education! Keep enjoying this trip! Love reading your thoughts on everything. I love you, be safe, love mom

Tot: 0.352s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0724s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb