Tuesday, June 17


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Lucca
June 17th 2008
Published: June 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well I guess it's time for an update. Tracie and Jawan (my two friends from LSU, we all auditioned in Chicago for this program that we are attending) are finally here. And things have just been getting better and better. Today the program started (thank goodness, time has been going so slow). I met a bunch of the music people here (music people are unique, a kind of their own. I don't personally consider myself a TRUE music major, because I think in order to be that I need to have a worse sense of humor and maybe snort a lot when I laugh...?) but they are nice. I'm not in a hard core Italian mood. All I want to do is learn Italian, so when I hear English I try to block it out. Although we only speak Italian in the house, but everyday I'm learning new phrases: "Ho fame" (I'm hungry. comes in handy alot) "Ciao cane" (Hello Dog. There are so many dogs here. P.S. parents I'm getting one when I get back, Italy has inspired me to reach out and create a loving home for a dog) "Quanto costo?" (How much? Pretty important no matter what country you are in) "Io vorrai un bici" (I want a bike. The new obsession with my life.)
Speaking of bikes, today I have conquered a huge fear. Background information: Everyone in Lucca rides bikes everywhere. Growing up though, I have been traumatized by bikes (sorry Dad). I just remember this one time growing up, my dad always did bike races, and me and Kendall would tag along and this one time we did the "Kid Race". Well, we lined up our bikes for this "Kid Race", and I happend to notice that I was the oldest in the group, most being at least 3 years younger than me (slightly embarrassing yes). Well the gun shot goes off to start the race, and everyone starts frantically peddeling. Well, we get around the first little corner, and my bike totally wipes out from underneath me and I have this dramatic fall. I stay down for a few minutes, my leg really hurt, but I was also trying to just play it off like I was injured. Well after like 15 minutes, when all the other little kiddies have finished the race, they get me up and FORCE me to finish the race by myself. So picture this, the oldest kid in the race, is also the worst biker, and is biking by herself while all the bystanders watch her. Very embarrassing seeing as I got beat by like 30 six year olds. But I got over it, I just refused to ride a bike the past 15 years of my life. Well, today we went to a bike shop to rent bikes. We found a place outside the walls of the city were we can rent bikes for 40 euros for a whole month (Which is much better than the 70 euros offered inside the walls). Good deal. Getting on the bike was a little scary at first, having flashbacks of that one bike ride, but so far so good. It's actually really enjoyable and relaxing. I loved riding around the city. You get around so much faster, and plus you don't sweat as much (I am highly prone to sweating). So, I'm really happy to get over my fear of biking. Hopefully I don't maul down any walkers in the city, I'll let you know if we need to attend any funerals.
Other than the bike, there was another really great aspect of the day. I don't know if everyone knows, but I'm all about stage make-up. I was introduced into it last year, and I have had so much fun doing fake beards, old age makeup, animals, glamour, you name it. I just love make-up and being able to turn someone into something completely different. I actually plan on making a career out of it. As much as I love singing, I don't think I'm cut out for the profession because you have to be able to handle a lot of rejection and almost everyone has these huge ego's, and I'm just not like that at all. But anyways, we had out big meeting and met everyone in the program, all the vocalists, instrumentalist, stage tech people, costume people, and the one make up girl. Well, I was debating in my head wether to ask the girl if she needed help or not, and I finally built up the courage and asked. I'm so proud of myself, because I'm not usually that outgoing type of person. But I asked the main stage director if the makeup person needed any help, and she was like "oh my gosh yes, let me introduce you". The make up girl is this little asian girl, and she seemed really desperate for help. Or rather just really desperate for any type of support in her choices. Ha, so I'm helping her out with the opera, and I'm so excited. She needs help with wigs, curling hair, and specifically doing two old-age make-ups, which I consider my specialty. I'm really excited. I think I'm more excited about the make-up then I am about singing in Italy. But it's okay. I'm excited to sing in Italy, because who all can say they have sung in Italy before?
Anyways, I have paid 25 euros to get wireless internet at this little cafe near my house, which will be easier since it's 5 people sharing one internet card in this house. Well, this is all for now, if I think of anything else I'll post it. Love you all

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb