Day Two in Italy


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Lucca
June 13th 2008
Published: June 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day Two:
Day two went much better than day one, but it also had its ups and downs. I was lucky enough to get the hostel room full of girls who just love to wake up at 7 in the morning. That was a pleasant little mini alarm clock. So I woke up, and gave mom a ring. I knew it was only one in the morning there, but I pretended like I forgot. (haha) We had a good chat, and then I showered and got ready for the day. We had to return our keys to our hostel rooms at 10 am. After that, me and David just chilled in the hostel common room. I looked at some music, wrote Day one of this story, and then I fell asleep on the couch for about 2 hours while David watched some movie. Then, we had a pleasant surprise. Deborah, our renter, called and told us we could move into our apartment at 3 instead of 7. (This was at about 2:15). So, we get up and go out to find a bank. Oh wait, I left out one precious detail: it’s raining. So, we go to find a bank because we were told we had to pay her our remaining money we owe for the hotel. David needed to cash some cashier checks, and I needed to withdraw enough money to pay her in cash. So I go up to the ATM, only to find out that the bank has put my card on lock because I forgot to tell them I was going to be in Italy. I guess that’s a good thing, I’m glad they are looking out for me, but then again, it was pouring rain, I needed 800 euro, and after trying three banks I got a little frustrated. Mom came to the rescue and went to the bank (thank God I bought an international phone), but I had to call some hotline and talk to some really slow moving people who enjoyed eating up my minutes. I got it unlocked though, and told them when I planned to be back to the U.S., so it worked out.
After the bank deal (which ended up taking until 3:30), we had to go back to the hostel and grab out luggage (yay heavy luggage). Then, we had to drag our luggage all the way across the entire town of Lucca to where our apartment is. On cobblestone streets. In the pouring rain. It was really quite the site to see. My arms were already incredibly sore from yesterday with the trains and hauling my luggage, but now, they are close to being ripped off. We finally made it, Deborah was a very sweet younger lady, and the apartment is AMAZING. Let’s just say, Tracie did a great job in finding this place, especially since we are paying close to the same amount that it cost to just stay in the hostel for the stay of the program, except now we are living in luxury. It’s a cute little apartment complex. It reminds me of New York where there is a list of the tenants and an intercom on the outside and you get buzzed in. We are on the second floor, although in Europe they call that the first floor because they don’t count the ground floor. (Oh, did I mention there is no elevator. Yea, I dragged my heavy luggage up 3 mini flights of stairs, my arms are starting to get really buff). There is a huge living room when you walk in with two couches, one being a pull out. Then there is a huge kitchen and table, it looks like it came out of Ikea. There are window wide open onto the street below us where you can hear all the loud Italians walking by. Then there are 3 bedrooms, one with a full bed, one with bunk beds, and one with two twins. The room with bunk beds has a porch/balcony that goes out where there is a washer and clothsline. It’s very Italian seeming.
After moving in a little and GETTING INTERNET (woo hoo), David and I decide to walk to the grocery store to buy groceries. (this is a good ¾ of a mile walk mind you). We stocked up, it should last us a good week. In Italy, you have to pay about 3 cents per plastic bag you want to use to carry your groceries home, so we bought these more sturdy heavy plastic ones to help us everytime we come back to the store. Then we lugged all our groceries (5 big bags worth) all the way back across the city. I bet this sight was almost as funny as me lugging my suitcase across the city, because the groceries weighed a lot. Oh and also, it was pouring rain. When we finally got back, we cooked a celebratory dinner for getting out of the hostel (actually, David cooked, I chopped up lettuce in an attempt to make a salad). Actually, it was probably more of a celebratory dinner for making it back alive carrying all those bags through the rain. It was very good, and then we topped it off by getting gelato. (Pisachio is my new favorite flavor). So, it’s been a very relaxing evening.
I got this thing called Skype, all of you should look into it. It’s like you talk over the phone but through the internet so that I won’t have to use up my minutes. And I think you can video chat and stuff. Look into it.
Some bad news though, remember that time at Kendall’s graduation when coke got spilled on my lap top? Well, I think that has affected the battery life of my computer, the battery runs out sooooo fast. So remind me to take that in as soon as I get back to the states since it’s still under warrenty. Also, I don’t have a three prong adaptor for my computer. I tried contacting Tracie to see if she could get me one before she comes, but we will see. I’ve been having to borrow David’s, and I feel bad always having to ask for it since my charge runs out so fast.
Other than that, things are getting better. I found out there is another LSU grad student here doing the program also, so that is cool, we are taking over Italy. Tomorrow I plan on finding the post office and mailing back probably about 30 or 40 pounds worth of stuff. Anyways, the computer is about to die. Ciao!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb