Don't worry I am here!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
October 1st 2006
Published: October 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well I am finally in wonderful Firenze... although I've been here since September 5th. LOL. Things have been good. I have been trying to still get adjusted to the way of living over here and the temperature. Other that that things are good and I love it here. It is just simply beautiful! There is so much to do here in Florence that I really don't need to go anywhere for the weekends outside of Florence. I've been going to different places in Italy, but that's about it. I have gone to... Assisi, Pisa, Lucca, Siena, San Gimignano, and Ravenna. All of them are beautiful. The part that I can't believe is that I got to see the Mosiacs of Justinian and his wife Theodora in the Basilica of San Vitale. Unbelieveable. I just learned about them last year and now this year I'm seeing them IN person and actually getting my own pictures of them. The food here is amazing and after ever meal I am filled to the brim with food. I cannot believe it is soooooo good. And every meal too! My host mom is an amazing cook also they are just amazing people in general. My host family is just so nice and inviting. I'm really trying hard to understand more at dinner and when I come home I talk as much Italian to my host mom that I can.

*this post is going to have no structure at all... but ya know... I'm just going to type to get all of my thoughts and experiences out!


Anyway, the one night I was here my roommate and I got smacked in the sternum by some Italian guy that came out of a bar... yeah. Not the greatest. Um, I missed the bus for a field trip so I had to take a train all by myself... I tripped while walking by a store and fell down a step. Such unfortunate events. =(

One day I went to Piazzale Michelangelo with my roommate and our host parents and the view was just gorgeous! If I could stay up there forever I think I would, it was just so peaceful and beautiful that it would be amazing to stay up there and just do homework or just fall asleep in the shade. Looking over the entire city of Florence is just incredible. I can't believe how awesome it is up there. I seriously love it here.

I love the Florentine pride too. Much better than that in our country. I went to a football game and they just get really rowdy, but I love it because it is sooo much fun. I plan on going to another one sometime.

I should probably wrap this up, but that's a quick update. More will come later

Ciao!

-Meredith



Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb