WE HAVE ARRIVED!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
February 23rd 2014
Published: February 23rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

We are here! A day late, but trip drama makes it more interesting, at least that is what I am telling myself. Before we landed in Frankfurt, Germany, the airport security staff had gone on strike. No flights were departing but all flights were arriving. That meant that it was Mike and me and literally thousands of other transferring travelers needing to rebook their flights. After 5 hours of standing in line we finally got to the Lufthansa desk and was able to rebook a flight for the next morning. We knew it would leave as the strike was scheduled to end at 11:00PM that night as that was when all flights stopped anyway. We love Lufthansa. They booked us a nice hotel, gave us taxi vouchers to and from the hotel and a voucher for 2 dinners that night. It was great.

The night we arrived we went to dinner with everyone and I had what I had been waiting for ever since I knew we were coming to Italy: Spaghetti vongole (with clams) and ensalada caprise. (tomatos with buffalo milk cheese, olive oil and fresh basil)and yes, Cheryl, I thought of you.

Today we went to church. We felt right at home, we didn't understand a word of the sermon and it reminded us of Jinotega. The church is very beautiful. The guy that built it fashioned it after the pantheon in Rome. Mike took a couple of pictures. He couldn't get the whole thing into one picture so you will have to use your imagination.

I will introduce you to the others who are here later when we get to know then better. We are part of a 5 person team and there are some young people who are here year round so will tell you about then too.

Today Mike and I went for a couple of nice walks. After our evening walk we finished up having a gellate (sp ice cream) yes Christian, we thought of you) and are now headed downstairs to play a game of cards. We start working tomorrow so will update you in a couple of days.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



24th February 2014
Ann at church in Florence

awesome
25th February 2014

Great! Loved reading about the trip. Looking forward to more.
3rd March 2014

Spaghetti
I love spaghetti! I cannot wait until the day I eat Spaghetti in Italy. Remember the Christmas we ate spaghetti around the kitchen table and then played catchphrase?! That is one I will always remember. Glad you made it safe. Its nice to read about your bumps in the road with such a positive outlook. You are in my prayers.
7th March 2014

I am glad you are following our travels. I will think of you when we eat spaghetti. And yes I remember our christmas dinner. It was fun.

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb