1st day in Florence.


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
January 22nd 2012
Published: January 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

I don't if I can really explain... this drink I'm drinking. Those who know my strangely specific hot chocolate order would find this highly amusing. I swear I am drinking melted chocolate. Quite literally. Sauce, I'd say. It's beautiful, but half way through I am in desperate need of a time out. It smells like brownies. Whipped cream on top. This is Florence.



This cute, laid back, surprisingly unpretentious cafe has a huge array of paninis. Amazing. There is one I can see - eggplant, boccichini, tomato and basil. Maybe that help absorb all the sugar currently being absorbed into my system.



I came by train from Roma this morning. After I figured out where to go, I found myself sitting next to this charming older gentleman and his wife. He was retired, she was a university lecturer. Their English was surprisingly good. So friendly. He lit up like a Christmas tree when I got my iPad out. Hopefully his kids will get him one. I was telling them about my sister winny who is studying art, speaks Portuguese and is learning Italian. All I can say is get your shit together. This place is amazing. Apparently uni lecturing is the way to go too. They have friends working in Sydney, London, Beijing, Auckland and Rio. Plenty of couch surfing opportunities if suggest.



I haven't seen the inside of my room yet but it looked lovely. And literally took me 1 min to accidentally walk to the ufizzi gallery. Seriously. Oh and Adrienne, about 10m from the hotel is what looks like the most beautiful restaurant I have ever seen. Hopefully it opens tonight 😊.



Now to David. Just when you think you have seen enough marble penises.. Penisi?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb