Tour de Football IV (by Hamish)


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
November 15th 2011
Published: November 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

After arriving in Florence, we were heading to an Italian supermarket when we stumbled across a park. We asked if we could go in and play, Mum handed it to dad to sort out and we all turned and said “Please” with a big puppy dog face on all of us. Dad let us go and we walked over.

I walked in and saw a futsal court with some kids kicking a football and there was one kid that really stood out. He was controlling the ball with every part of the body. He looked 7, 8 maybe 9 and he was moving the ball around like a player in the premier league. I was looking after Ollie and I lost him about 2 or 3 times because I was too into this kid. I walked in to the court and I asked can I play, he replied with a yes. The way they play on the park is they have a half way line, they are not allowed to cross the line and they must kick over the line towards a goal.

My first kick was a rocket at the kids face and had to duck for cover. He comes over and he says “slower”, I have a giggle inside and he walks off. He goes to the ball flicks it up and does a side volley right over me into the goal. I’m shocked that a kid of such age could do that.

Josephine comes over and shouts “WE HAVE TO GO” I say arrividerci and off I go. He picks up the ball and shakes my hand. I go off with a smile, thinking that he could one day be one of the star footballers in the world.

Hamish

Advertisement



Tot: 0.226s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb